The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 28, 2003, 11:12am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
[/B]
It's not legal, if the first bat was the beginning of a dribble. I don't have a book reference, but I'm sure I'm right. I think it's similar to having the ball hit the body -- the player has to then let the ball hit the floor again, before touching it again with the hand. [/B][/QUOTE]The dribble started with the first bat- Rule 4-15-1. Then the language in casebook play 4.15.4SitD(a) spells out the violation- "Violation in (a) because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble before it touched the floor". You use the same rationale as this casebook play for Nevada's example.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1