The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 27, 2003, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Is it a violation if the dribbler strikes the ball with his hand twice before it hits the floor? I am not talking about a situation like the casebook where the ball is batted over someone's head and then the player touches it again before allowing it to strike the floor.
In this case the dribbler pushes the ball toward the floor and it breaks contact with his hand, but before it reaches the floor, he then reaches down and touches the ball a second time and changes the angle of the dribble. In short, the dribbler never causes the ball to come to rest, since it is always moving downward, but does change the left to right movement of the ball as it descends.
A rule reference would be nice, too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1