The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 23, 2003, 06:43pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 321
3 man mechanics. T and L are away from the table ball is in the frontcourt. T calls a foul, ball remains frontcourt pass from oob sideline away from the table. How do you switch?

-C obviously stays where he is. Do the T and L switch or does L stay put and T goes back and administers oob pass from exactly where he was?

Also please show me where this is in the manual. On p. 73 we have a similar sit. but the call was made table side. I cant find where the call is made away from the table.

In a recent game I thought T and L should switch. Evaluator says no switch. I see his point how it is an awkward switch-but can't find justification for his or my answer in the book. (of course if that's what he wants thats what I'll do)

FYI-In this first HS boys game of the year and I was made the R! Through attrition at the top of our association and hard work on the floor/studying the book/ and this website I am moving up. However this was a preseason game without the most experienced crew and I am still not on a regular HS boys schedule.

[Edited by oc on Nov 23rd, 2003 at 06:16 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 23, 2003, 08:36pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,834
Lightbulb That is what it says.

I do not have the book with me right at this moment. But in NF Mechanics, you always go opposite table when you call a foul. If you are the T and you call a foul and you are staying in the front court, you still remain the T. No reason to switch, you are already opposite the table, you just go back. If you are the L, you switch, because it saves steps when you get ready for position.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 23, 2003, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Jeff is correct. If the ball remains in the FC, the calling official calls opposite table, either to T or C, depending on where the ball will be put in play. In your play, returning to T is the correct procedure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1