![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
You can't tell if a player is dribbling or not? Forget all the permutations about a defender reaching for the ball, or the long bounce pass. A1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt, near the sideline. While still dribbling, A1 begins his move to the basket and his back foot touches the boundary line. A1's hand is not in contact with the ball until after the back foot is raised off the boundary line. Is this a violation? If so, when? I contend that it's a violation as soon as the dribbler touches the OOB line, based on the "Question" at the end of 9-3. He's obviously dribbling. He steps on the line. Tweet. Quote:
Camron already posted it on page 3. 9-3, Question. RULE 9 SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds. Question - The dribbler steps on or outside a boundary, but does not touch the ball while he or she is out of bounds. Is this a violation? Answer - Yes. This tells me that the violation occurs immediately when the dribbler steps OOB. The only way for you to deny that is to claim that the dribbler ceases to be a dribbler when he's not touching the ball. And that just seems silly to me.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|