The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 16, 2003, 11:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
mick, I looked for the case play, which I thought was in the book but may have been on the NF website a couple of years ago. (I bet Bob J. has it saved or printed) But the play basically said that if a dribbler stepped OOB, it was a violation whether he touched the ball when he was OOB or not. In the case described, we would have to determine if the dribbler still had PC when he stepped OOB or if an interrupted dribble had already occurred.
I remember that, Tony.
No, that's totally different, if A1 continues to dribble.
That cannot apply when he never touches the ball again before someone else touches it.
The dribble ended when A2 touched the ball.
mick
Actually, it's not different. As soon as A1 touches OOB, it's a violation. He does not have to touch the ball again.

There are is just one question. Did A2 touch the ball and end the dribble before A1 stepped out? As you said, the dribble ended when A2 touched it. If A1 went OOB before the touch, it's a violation, as there was not an interrupted dribble and the dribble still existed. If not, play on.
Nope. A1 batted the ball to A2. ...A pass.
When A1 went out-of-bounds he was no longer dribbling.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1