The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2003, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by psychobat
I'm new to this board and have a question.
Welcome to the board!! Although, I'm not really sure we need another psycho around here

Quote:
He never pushed off with the forearm but I saw it as an advantage for the offense so I called a player control foul on the dribbler? Was I correct in doing so?
If there's no contact, I don't think you can make a case for the PC. Indy-ref mentions "extending" as noted in 10-6-1; but in that rule, it says that you can't "impede" an opponent by extending. If there's no contact, then the dribbler really hasn't impeded the defender.

Bottom line is that you must have contact to call a personal foul. So to answer your question directly, I don't think that you were correct to call the PC foul.

In the past, what I have done in a JH game, was that I mentioned to the coach that if the extended arm made contact, there might be a foul. Coach was grateful for the info and immediately coached her point guard on not "leading" with the arm. That might not be appropriate in every JH game, but it worked for me that night.

I hope you're not losing sleep about the call, but it's good that you found the forum. Have a great season.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1