The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2003, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
A made basket is not a violation, so 4-3-3a does not apply, nor should it. The rule was never intended to address this situation.

We have a made basket, so it is not one of the situations specified for alternating possession/jump ball. So the second choice that Mark has selected does not go by the book - doesn't make it wrong, but it is not a logical outcome.

Since the book addresses none of these situations, a goal by A (on either a defelction by B or A) should result in B with ball on baseline off the made shot AND the possession arow. Logic dictates that the made basket is a surrogate for team control - it is the most right solution when the rules offer no correct answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1