The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Nov 03, 2003, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member

I know this is something that has probably been discussed a lot on this board, but I'm new here, so bear with me...

I'm a two year official, mostly rec ball so far. The more I step on the court, the harder I find for my calls to be consistent, whereas in baseball (which I've been doing for five years) I find it much easier. One thing that doesn't help is the palm/carry/travelling calls. I keep hearing from coaches and parents stuff like, "no one calls that anymore." My question for all of you is: when do you call it, if you do, and what can we do as officials to keep these calls consistent. Thanks. ---Darryl
Old Mon Nov 03, 2003, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member

I only call it if the hand is directly underneath the ball. I know the kids now days dribble from the back side and then over but it's legal. Also from the sound of your post is they might be screaming about a ball bounced above the dribblers head...again it's legal...

My advise is to tell the coaches and parents to grab the rule book and show you where its illegal..

hope this helps
Old Mon Nov 03, 2003, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by DarrylJohnson
I know this is something that has probably been discussed a lot on this board, but I'm new here, so bear with me...