![]() |
|
|
|||
Study question:
On the jump ball to start the game, A5 forcefully taps the ball toward his own basket. The ball rebounds off the backboard and into A's goal. Ruling: A5's goal counts for 2 pts. We hashed this one out last night while studying for tomorrow nights test and couldn't agree on the answer. How about some insight from the old pros. Thanks, Barry |
|
|||
I don't have my new rule books yet so don't quote my on this..... but somwhere down the line I thought that in order for it to count as 3 points.... It had to be a shot or an attempt or a try... however you want to say it. Would this explain your answer?
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
-A bad pass going in the hoop yes. Tip of the jump ball? Whatever. Here's a question I read last year but can't remember the answer. Ball is last touched by A1 behind the 3 point line bounces inside the line and then goes in the hoop. how many points? I don't think I will see this either but for a test what is the answer? |
|
|||
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]Two points. The 3 point try ended when the try/touch/tap hit the floor. See the language in casebook play 5.1.1Sit for this one. |
|
|||
Now for the AP arrow!
Another good question about this play would be: When is the AP arrow initially set and toward the basket of which team is it pointed?
I believe that a part (d.) needs to be added to 4-3-3 to cover this play. I have thought about and I can testify that this play is possible because a friend of mine who has officiated for 20+ years once had a basket off the jump occur in one of his games. On that play the tapped ball hit the floor before going in, though. |
|
|||
Re: The jump ball going in is a tap . . .
Quote:
4-40-5 A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player's hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket. I don't see how we can consider a jump ball a "tap for goal." But it is a 3 if it goes in per the rule JR quoted earlier. |
|
|||
Re: Now for the AP arrow!
Quote:
I think that 4-3-3 also covers it well, and I'd be willing to use 2-3 to extrapolate that rule to a part d.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Quote:
Like I said I have a friend that had this happen in a game, so I have thought about it for a while. He and I concluded that a part (d) is necessary. The play is not as simple as you make it seem. For example, what if the five players on Team B are so stunned and confused by the ball going through the basket that none of them go over and get the ball. The astute official sees the ball is available to them and starts a five second count. He then reaches five and calls the violation. Now who will be the first to secure the ball of the jump? So do you still think that 4-3-1 covers it? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|