![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Secondly, as I said before, anything having to do with the shot clock is NOT covered by FED rules. Therefore, I can legitimately use 2-3 to do the right thing. The right thing here is NOT to penalize a violation that didn't occur. |
Chuck
This still doesn't answer why NF would allow you to call a game over when you you have direct knowledge that your whistle came before the horn. The game is over because of a lag time rule only. I can't understand why you would not apply that same rule to a middle of the game violation. The end of game can have much greater impact than a mid-game violation call. And the reasoning behind lag time works for both situations - you don't want to try to micromanage the clock in every HS and MS gym in the country, just fix major timing blunders. It holds true for shot clock (when used) and for game clock. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And, comment on why 2-12.10, AR 28 and 5-7.2b and 5-7.2c might not also apply to the shotclock. (For those w/o NCAA books: AR 28 deals with lag time, although it's not as clear as the FED case; 5-7.2 states that if a foul / violation / held ball occur so near the end of the playing time, the period ends with the foul / violation / held ball) |
My reference here is J.B. Caldwell of the SEC, as propounded to me at NunnBetter. :)
Give me some time to comb the book, and I'll see if I can back it up. |
Quote:
Since you admit that Fed rules do not say anything at all about a shot clock, how can you point to 5-10-1 to justify putting that one second back on the shot clock? You are going to have to work completely on the grounds of 2-3 here. As for my 2-3 decision, I have to agree with Hawks Coach. Violation. For the record, the state of California uses a shot clock for both boys and girls. I have a copy of the rules modifications for CA and they do not address these kind timing issues with the shot clock at all! Very sloppy IMO. |
Shot clock winding down, ball goes out of bounds, whistle just before the horn about as close as can get. We get together, I'm thinking probably put 1 tick on the shot. Nope the other 2 both disagreed and said violation. I know it wasn't a full second, but don't we have to give the ball back with no violation. Some veteran input please.
FIBA: 39.2.2 If the 24-second device signal sounds in error whilst a team hascontrol of the ball, the official shall stop the game immediately. Possession of the ball and a new 24-second period shall be awarded to the team that previously had control of the ball when the device sounded. All restrictions related to goal tending and interference with the ball shall apply. NBA: Rule 7 - Section II - Paragraph g. If a defensive player causes the ball to go out-of-bounds or causes the ball to enter the basket ring from below, the 24-second clock is stopped and the offensive team shall be awarded the ball. The offensive team shall have only the unexpired time remaining on the 24-second clock in which to attempt a field goal. If the 24-second clock reads 0, a 24-second violation has occurred, even though the horn may not have sounded. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Bobby, just FYI, NCAA and NF say you play to the horn, even if the clock (shot or game) shows 00:00.0 |
Mark,
I know that. NCAA, NF, and FIBA all go to the horn (NCAA/NF) or the "timekeeper's signal" (FIBA). The horn has more to do with tradition. In the days before modern scoreboards with the clocks which would be in a 8-minute clock with hands instead of the digits, the horn was the determining factor. You also didn't have the clocks which ran in tenths used by FIBA which led to the NBA's 1989 rule change adopting the FIBA-style game clock. The NCAA mandated FIBA clocks in 2001. Modern scoreboards have made the zeroes on the clock more prevalent, and even modern rulings on the clock are a byproduct of technology. The NBA mandated the red light on the backboard in 1980, and NCAA Division I mandates it today. Today's NBA rule now states the red light is lit on the shot clock too. FIBA's version is a quirky even though Hank Nichols is the FIBA rules secretary. On a whistle and then the 24-second signal sounding, it's a 24-second signal which sounds in error. That's a fresh 24. If you are a local federation, I would say the best thing is to seriously use the NCAA, NBA, or FIBA rule and write it into the book. The FIBA's rule is the simplest. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
So, I have about 50-50 on this one. I couldn't find a definite answer in the NCAA book on this one. Maybe I over looked it. But I agree with everyone saying put 1 tick on the clock. How can you call violation when the full 35 hasn't ran out? That's exactly what the coach asked. My reply was "We're going to talk about it at half time. Glad this happened early in the season!" He said,"Doesn't really matter, we're getting pounded anyway." But that's beside the point. If this happens in a tight game down the stretch, I want to get it right. So far, until I find a definite answer, I'm going to put 1 tick back on the shot clock.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm. |