The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt/Throw-In Spot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106497-backcourt-throw-spot.html)

The_Rookie Wed Nov 05, 2025 12:38am

Backcourt/Throw-In Spot
 
A1 has front court status. A1 passes the ball to A2 who while jumping from backcourt and in midair catches the ball and lands in front court.

1) Does this become a backcourt violation when A2 catches the ball or when he lands in Frontcourt?

2) Does the subsequent throw-in occur at 28 ft mark of B's front court or B's backcourt?

SNIPERBBB Wed Nov 05, 2025 06:42am

Call the violation on the touch.

Violation occurs in Bs frontcourt so that's the throw in spot. I wouldn't be surprised if an interp. Comes out that changes this like they did last year.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 05, 2025 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1054362)
Call the violation on the touch.

Violation occurs in Bs frontcourt so that's the throw in spot. I wouldn't be surprised if an interp. Comes out that changes this like they did last year.


Please refresh my memory per last year's interpretation.

Thanks,

MTD, Sr.

SNIPERBBB Wed Nov 05, 2025 12:21pm

The 23-24 interp

SITUATION 10: A1, while dribbling the ball in team A’s frontcourt, steps on but not over the division line. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when A1 contacted the division line. Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its frontcourt at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation. (9-9-1, 9-9 PENALTY)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 05, 2025 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1054369)
The 23-24 interp

SITUATION 10: A1, while dribbling the ball in team A’s frontcourt, steps on but not over the division line. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when A1 contacted the division line. Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its frontcourt at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation. (9-9-1, 9-9 PENALTY)


Thank you.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 05, 2025 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1054361)
A1 has front court status. A1 passes the ball to A2 who while jumping from backcourt and in midair catches the ball and lands in front court.

1) Does this become a backcourt violation when A2 catches the ball or when he lands in Frontcourt?

2) Does the subsequent throw-in occur at 28 ft mark of B's front court or B's backcourt?



1a) The Backcourt Violation occurs the instant A2 touches the Ball.

1b) Because A2 simultaneously: i) caused the Ball to go to Team A's Backcourt and ii) was the first Player to touch the Ball in Team A's Backcourt after causing to go to Team A's Backcourt.

2a) It does not matter whether: i) A2 is over Team A's Backcourt or ii) A2 is over Team A's Frontcourt when A2 touches the Ball because the instant the Ball was touched by A2 it attained Backcourt Status. Therefore, the BC Violation by A2 was committed in Team A's Backcourt.

2b) Therefore, Team B will be awarded a Designated Spot Throw-in in Team B's Frontcourt at the Sideline 28-Foot Designated Spot nearest to where A2 committed the BC Violation.

SniperBBB referenced 2023-24 NFHS Basketball (Pre-Season) Rules Interpretations Situation 10 to verify where the ensuing Throw-in is to be taken by Team B. I was disappointed that Rules Committee had to write Situation 10 because all of the information needed to determine where the ensuing Throw-in is to be made can be found in Rule Four (Definitions) of the Rules Book.

MTD, Sr.

SNIPERBBB Thu Nov 06, 2025 06:54am

NFHS was just following their tradition of messing up every major rule change. The way the wrote the initial press release had many of us thinking the opposite would be the ruling on this BCv play.

BillyMac Thu Nov 06, 2025 10:28am

The Schrödinger Equation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1054374)
NFHS was just following their tradition of messing up every major rule change. The way the wrote the initial press release had many of us thinking the opposite would be the ruling on this BCV play.

I know more about quantum physics than I know about college basketball officiating, but wasn't there a NFHS conflict with the NCAA backcourt (step on but not over the division line) guideline about the inbound location? Wasn't the college throwin spot on the division line?

bob jenkins Thu Nov 06, 2025 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1054376)
I know more about quantum physics than I know about college basketball officiating, but wasn't there a conflict with the NCAA backcourt (step on but not over the division line) guideline about the inbound location? Wasn't the college throwin spot on the division line?

Yes -- at least for NCAAW

Raymond Thu Nov 06, 2025 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1054376)
I know more about quantum physics than I know about college basketball officiating, but wasn't there a conflict with the NCAA backcourt (step on but not over the division line) guideline about the inbound location? Wasn't the college throwin spot on the division line?

NCAA Men's: the throw is at the division line with a full reset to 30 seconds if the backcourt violation is a result of stepping on the division line.

If the back court violation occurs in the defense's front court, throw-in is at one of the four spots with the shot clock set at 20 seconds.


You cannot just say "college/NCAA rules". The Men's side and the Women's side have different rule sets.





Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Nov 06, 2025 12:59pm

Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1054378)
You cannot just say "college/NCAA rules". The Men's side and the Women's side have different rule sets.

As I stated, I know more about quantum physics than I know about college basketball officiating, and that isn't very much.

Note: The only reason I know about Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle is because in the television show Breaking Bad, Walter White (Bryan Cranston) chooses the name Heisenberg as his drug-world moniker. As a chemist, he would be well aware of the famous physicist Werner Heisenberg, the founder of the principle. As someone with two-plus college degrees in science, thirty years as a science teacher, and thirteen years as a chemist, physics is the area of science that I'm weakest in. As far as I'm concerned, a "physic" is something one takes to prevent constipation.

JRutledge Thu Nov 06, 2025 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1054361)
1) Does this become a backcourt violation when A2 catches the ball or when he lands in Frontcourt?

When they touch the ball. ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1054361)
2) Does the subsequent throw-in occur at 28 ft mark of B's front court or B's backcourt?

The 28 foot mark in the new FC. All BCV are in the new FC based on where the violation takes place. ;)

Peace

Camron Rust Mon Nov 10, 2025 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1054380)
When they touch the ball. ;)



The 28 foot mark in the new FC. All BCV are in the new FC based on where the violation takes place. ;)

Peace

Not all, but most.

A1, near the division line, throws a bounce pass across the court to A2. The ball bounces in the backcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, then catches the ball for a BCV....in A's FC. B's ball in B's backcourt as that is where the violation occurred

Raymond Mon Nov 10, 2025 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1054393)
Not all, but most.



A1, near the division line, throws a bounce pass across the court to A2. The ball bounces in the backcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, then catches the ball for a BCV....in A's FC. B's ball in B's backcourt as that is where the violation occurred

That's the exception I always don't feel like typing out.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Tue Nov 11, 2025 10:25am

2025-26 Interpretations ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1054369)
The 23-24 interp

SITUATION 10: A1, while dribbling the ball in team A’s frontcourt, steps on but not over the division line. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when A1 contacted the division line. Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its frontcourt at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation. (9-9-1, 9-9 PENALTY)

NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations 2025-26

SITUATION 2 (Throw-In Provisions): Team A is in control of the ball in its frontcourt. A1 is dribbling near the division line. While still holding the ball in the frontcourt, A1 steps with one foot onto (but not completely over) the division line. A backcourt violation has occurred. The division line is part of the backcourt, and when any part of a player’s body touches it while they have team control in the frontcourt, the ball is considered to have been in the backcourt. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in at one of the two designated spots at the 28-foot mark along the sideline in the offended team’s frontcourt nearest to where the violation occurred. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A player shall not cause the ball to be illegally returned from the frontcourt to the backcourt. Stepping on the line while in frontcourt control constitutes a violation even if the player does not completely cross into the backcourt. The throw-in procedure requires the awarding of the ball, for all backcourt violations, to the opponent at one of the four designated spots closest to the violation. In this case, it will be one of the spots along the sideline, 28 feet from the end line. (4-13-2, 7-5-2, 9-9-1)




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1