![]() |
Backcourt/Throw-In Spot
A1 has front court status. A1 passes the ball to A2 who while jumping from backcourt and in midair catches the ball and lands in front court.
1) Does this become a backcourt violation when A2 catches the ball or when he lands in Frontcourt? 2) Does the subsequent throw-in occur at 28 ft mark of B's front court or B's backcourt? |
Call the violation on the touch.
Violation occurs in Bs frontcourt so that's the throw in spot. I wouldn't be surprised if an interp. Comes out that changes this like they did last year. |
Quote:
Please refresh my memory per last year's interpretation. Thanks, MTD, Sr. |
The 23-24 interp
SITUATION 10: A1, while dribbling the ball in team A’s frontcourt, steps on but not over the division line. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when A1 contacted the division line. Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its frontcourt at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation. (9-9-1, 9-9 PENALTY) |
Quote:
Thank you. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
1a) The Backcourt Violation occurs the instant A2 touches the Ball. 1b) Because A2 simultaneously: i) caused the Ball to go to Team A's Backcourt and ii) was the first Player to touch the Ball in Team A's Backcourt after causing to go to Team A's Backcourt. 2a) It does not matter whether: i) A2 is over Team A's Backcourt or ii) A2 is over Team A's Frontcourt when A2 touches the Ball because the instant the Ball was touched by A2 it attained Backcourt Status. Therefore, the BC Violation by A2 was committed in Team A's Backcourt. 2b) Therefore, Team B will be awarded a Designated Spot Throw-in in Team B's Frontcourt at the Sideline 28-Foot Designated Spot nearest to where A2 committed the BC Violation. SniperBBB referenced 2023-24 NFHS Basketball (Pre-Season) Rules Interpretations Situation 10 to verify where the ensuing Throw-in is to be taken by Team B. I was disappointed that Rules Committee had to write Situation 10 because all of the information needed to determine where the ensuing Throw-in is to be made can be found in Rule Four (Definitions) of the Rules Book. MTD, Sr. |
NFHS was just following their tradition of messing up every major rule change. The way the wrote the initial press release had many of us thinking the opposite would be the ruling on this BCv play.
|
The Schrödinger Equation ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the back court violation occurs in the defense's front court, throw-in is at one of the four spots with the shot clock set at 20 seconds. You cannot just say "college/NCAA rules". The Men's side and the Women's side have different rule sets. Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk |
Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle ...
Quote:
Note: The only reason I know about Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle is because in the television show Breaking Bad, Walter White (Bryan Cranston) chooses the name Heisenberg as his drug-world moniker. As a chemist, he would be well aware of the famous physicist Werner Heisenberg, the founder of the principle. As someone with two-plus college degrees in science, thirty years as a science teacher, and thirteen years as a chemist, physics is the area of science that I'm weakest in. As far as I'm concerned, a "physic" is something one takes to prevent constipation. |
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
A1, near the division line, throws a bounce pass across the court to A2. The ball bounces in the backcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, then catches the ball for a BCV....in A's FC. B's ball in B's backcourt as that is where the violation occurred |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk |
2025-26 Interpretations ...
Quote:
SITUATION 2 (Throw-In Provisions): Team A is in control of the ball in its frontcourt. A1 is dribbling near the division line. While still holding the ball in the frontcourt, A1 steps with one foot onto (but not completely over) the division line. A backcourt violation has occurred. The division line is part of the backcourt, and when any part of a player’s body touches it while they have team control in the frontcourt, the ball is considered to have been in the backcourt. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in at one of the two designated spots at the 28-foot mark along the sideline in the offended team’s frontcourt nearest to where the violation occurred. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A player shall not cause the ball to be illegally returned from the frontcourt to the backcourt. Stepping on the line while in frontcourt control constitutes a violation even if the player does not completely cross into the backcourt. The throw-in procedure requires the awarding of the ball, for all backcourt violations, to the opponent at one of the four designated spots closest to the violation. In this case, it will be one of the spots along the sideline, 28 feet from the end line. (4-13-2, 7-5-2, 9-9-1) |
Rule Of Thumb Exception ...
Quote:
I 100% agree with Camron Rust by rule, but would love to see a NFHS interpretation of such (similar to the necessary "step on but not over the division line" interpretation). |
Split Second, Don't Blink ...
Quote:
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...ml#post1054108 |
Quote:
Meaning it is a backcourt violation since there was team control when the player stepped into the backcourt. |
Backcourt ...
Quote:
So, I won't use the term boundary anymore. Backcourt 9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. The player never touched the ball and the backcourt at the same time. And the player in question had player control (not an interrupted dribble) as well as team control. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09pm. |