The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt/Throw-In Spot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106497-backcourt-throw-spot.html)

BillyMac Tue Nov 11, 2025 10:33am

Rule Of Thumb Exception ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1054393)
A1, near the division line, throws a bounce pass across the court to A2. The ball bounces in the backcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, then catches the ball for a BCV....in A's FC. B's ball in B's backcourt as that is where the violation occurred

Great "exception" interpretation.

I 100% agree with Camron Rust by rule, but would love to see a NFHS interpretation of such (similar to the necessary "step on but not over the division line" interpretation).

BillyMac Tue Nov 11, 2025 10:56am

Split Second, Don't Blink ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1054393)
A1, near the division line, throws a bounce pass across the court to A2. The ball bounces in the backcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, then catches the ball for a BCV...

Reminds me of my extremely rare scenario where a player dribbling in the frontcourt very close to and parallel to the division line steps on the division line for a split second “between” dribbles and then continues to dribble in the frontcourt. His hand is never in contact with the ball for the split second his foot is on the division line. Note: The division line is not defined as one of the boundary lines (there is a "carve" out for this being a boundary violation on only an endline or a sideline).

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...ml#post1054108

ChuckS Tue Nov 11, 2025 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1054399)
Note: The division line is not defined as one of the boundary lines

That is irrelevant to the backcourt rule (9-9-1), which mentions "frontcourt" and "backcourt". Those terms are defined in Rule 4-13.

Meaning it is a backcourt violation since there was team control when the player stepped into the backcourt.

BillyMac Tue Nov 11, 2025 07:19pm

Backcourt ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckS (Post 1054401)
That is irrelevant to the backcourt rule (9-9-1), which mentions "frontcourt" and "backcourt". Those terms are defined in Rule 4-13.

Good point. Agree.

So, I won't use the term boundary anymore.

Backcourt 9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

The player never touched the ball and the backcourt at the same time.

And the player in question had player control (not an interrupted dribble) as well as team control.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1