The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   IAABO Refresher Exam #17 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106493-iaabo-refresher-exam-17-a.html)

SNIPERBBB Thu Nov 13, 2025 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1054420)
There used to be something called "floor violations". That was a long, long time ago that I last read about them.

If the rulebook no longer defines what constitutes a "throw-in violation", then we have to assume any violation by the offense committed before the throw-in ends is a throw-in violation.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

I think it's fine the way it is unless you're going for unity with NCAA. For simplicity, is like it to say, any violation by the throw-in team loses the arrow, by the defense keep the arrow, fouls do not change the arrow. Trying to make it throw in only violations by the offense is harder to remember for newer officials. Older ones screw this up enough as it is

RefLarry Mon Nov 17, 2025 09:19am

#17 is "no"
 
The confirmed correct answer to #17 is "No".

BillyMac Mon Nov 17, 2025 01:23pm

IAABO Versus NFHS Feud ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RefLarry (Post 1054449)
The confirmed correct answer to #17 is "No".

#17 Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A-1’s throw-in is kicked by A-2. The official awards the ball to Team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward Team B’s basket. Is the official correct?

No, as I answered correctly, but this says otherwise:

6.4.5 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation. RULING: B’s ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B’s basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure. COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1