![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Confused In Connecticut ...
Quote:
Quote:
In the past if a defensive player intentionally slapped the backboard and the ball didn't go in all we could do was to charge a technical foul (and not award the goal). How do we handle this now? Award the goal, or award the goal and charge a technical foul?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Still Confused ...
Quote:
However: 10-4-4b: This rule prohibits players from illegally contacting the backboard or ring in ways that create an unfair advantage or interfere with a scoring attempt. This rule is designed to maintain fair play and protect the integrity of scoring opportunities by penalizing actions affecting the outcome of a shot, with a technical foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
The Rain In Spain Falls Mainly On The Plain ...
Quote:
Let me see if I've got this figured out? In high school ... Slapping the backboard, with, or without intent, is no longer a technical foul, never. However, if the backboard is slapped, with, or without intent, and it affects the shot such that it doesn't go in the basket, we can award the goal for basket interference. However, if the backboard is slapped, with, or without intent, and it does not affect the shot that doesn't go in the basket, we cannot award the goal. Old rules regarding putting hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage (the Ralph Sampson Rule) are still in place and we can charge a technical foul. "I think I've got it." Do I? Ralph Sampson’s (Virginia 1979-1983, NBA 1983-1995) controversial basket against Brigham Young in the 1981 NCAA tournament prompted an NCAA rule change. The seven foot, four inch Virginia Cavalier All-American center dunked the ball with his free hand braced against the backboard. The basket led to a five point swing for Virginia which capitalized on a technical foul against Brigham Young's Danny Ainge who thought Sampson's play was illegal. Actually Sampson did nothing wrong since, at the time, there was no rule making this an illegal play. Since 1983 NFHS rules now state that it’s illegal for player to place a hand on the backboard, or the ring, to gain an advantage.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat May 24, 2025 at 10:39am. |
|
|||
|
Personal Interpretation ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2025 NFHS Softball Rules Questionnaire | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Softball | 1 | Tue Jun 03, 2025 02:52pm |
| NCAA Men's and Women's Rules Changes Press Releases for 2025-26. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 3 | Wed May 14, 2025 05:17am |
| 2025 NFHS Basketball Rules Questionnaire ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 6 | Wed May 07, 2025 10:51am |
| NCAA Men's Tournament Officials (2025) | Rich | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 24, 2025 08:41am |
| 2025 NFHS Rules Changes | FMadera | Volleyball | 3 | Mon Feb 03, 2025 08:43am |