Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
It has to influence the shot at the other levels as well ... It is not just simply hitting the backboard and then you call a violation.
|
Thanks JRutledge.
Let me see if I've got this figured out?
In high school ...
Slapping the backboard, with, or without intent, is no longer a technical foul, never.
However, if the backboard is slapped, with, or without intent, and it affects the shot such that it doesn't go in the basket, we can award the goal for basket interference.
However, if the backboard is slapped, with, or without intent, and it does not affect the shot that doesn't go in the basket, we cannot award the goal.
Old rules regarding putting hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage (the Ralph Sampson Rule) are still in place and we can charge a technical foul.
"I think I've got it."
Do I?
Ralph Sampson’s (Virginia 1979-1983, NBA 1983-1995) controversial basket against Brigham Young in the 1981 NCAA tournament prompted an NCAA rule change. The seven foot, four inch Virginia Cavalier All-American center dunked the ball with his free hand braced against the backboard. The basket led to a five point swing for Virginia which capitalized on a technical foul against Brigham Young's Danny Ainge who thought Sampson's play was illegal. Actually Sampson did nothing wrong since, at the time, there was no rule making this an illegal play. Since 1983 NFHS rules now state that it’s illegal for player to place a hand on the backboard, or the ring, to gain an advantage.