The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How to resume after clock starts during throw-in that is untouched. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106121-how-resume-after-clock-starts-during-throw-untouched.html)

BillyMac Wed Dec 13, 2023 09:56am

Trump ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1051668)
Per NFHS Rules there is absolutely no way that an Official can set the Game Clock to any other time than 0:03.0

In NFHS situations, interpretations trump rules.

Zoochy Wed Dec 13, 2023 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1051640)
The are no "do overs" in NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's Basketball therefore there are no "do overs" in either Throw-in situation that you have presented.

Situation #1: Assuming that it was Team A that had the Ball for a Throw-in. The Ball is put back into Play with Team B being awarded a Designated Spot Throw-in on the End Line in its Back Court where the Ball went Out of Bounds. The Game Clock is reset to 0:03.0 because per Rule that is the only Definite Time known by the Game Officials.

Situation #2: Assuming that it was Team A that had the Ball for a Throw-in. The Ball is put back into Play with Team A being awarded a Designated Spot Throw-in in its Front Court on the Boundary Line nearest where the Ball was when the Game Officials stopped play. The Game Clock is reset to 0:03.0 because per Rule that is the only Definite Time known by the Game Officials.

See the Thread in the Forum that has previously these Situations: https://forum.officiating.com/basket...onds-left.html

MTD, Sr.

This is a throw-in violation for Situation #1. No one touches the ball before it goes Out of Bounds. Go to the ORIGINAL throw-in location if throw-in is in Back Court or 1 of 4 designated spots nearest if the new throw-in is in the Front Court

Afrosheen Thu Dec 14, 2023 04:11pm

Sorry, in situation one (the alleyoop play off a throw in), I forgot to mention the horn went off during the throw-in and before the ball going out of bounds along the end line. The pertinent information is that the horn signifies that the clock prematurely started and that the ball’s location is nearest the end line when the horn sounded.

Based on the case scenario previously provided in this thread, is it indeed that the ball is returned to its previous location? Would this be the only scenario where a “do over” is allowed?

I apologize for omitting the part that the horn went off in the middle of the alley oop scenario.

BillyMac Thu Dec 14, 2023 05:51pm

Location, Location, Location ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Afrosheen (Post 1051695)
... the ball’s location is nearest the end line when the horn sounded.

4-4-3: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 14, 2023 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051643)
That ship has now passed.

2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 5: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and B2 knocks the ball loose. While the ball is loose, the official recognizes their mistake, whistles and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the same spot. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A loose ball does not change the status of the ball as it is still in Team A’s control. The mistake can be corrected until the status of the ball changes. The clock should be reset to the time remaining when the throw-in was made by Team A. (7-6-6)


The Throw-in in Situation 5's Ruling is not a "do over" anymore than A1 reshooting his/her missed FTA when B1 commits a FT Violation is a "do over".

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 14, 2023 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1051681)
This is a throw-in violation for Situation #1. No one touches the ball before it goes Out of Bounds. Go to the ORIGINAL throw-in location if throw-in is in Back Court or 1 of 4 designated spots nearest if the new throw-in is in the Front Court


OOPSIE! I was thinking about it being a Backcourt Throw-in by Team B that I forgot that this was a Throw-in Violation by Team A and not a routine Out-of-Bounds Violation by Team A. I will edit my response.

MTD, Sr.

Afrosheen Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051697)
4-4-3: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

Even on a throw-in?

bob jenkins Fri Dec 15, 2023 08:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Afrosheen (Post 1051701)
Even on a throw-in?

Yes, but again, it doesn't matter.

The Ball always has a Location, but Ball Location isn't always used to determine a throw-in spot.

BillyMac Fri Dec 15, 2023 01:09pm

Do Over ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1051698)
The Throw-in in Situation 5's Ruling is not a "do over" anymore than A1 reshooting his/her missed FTA when B1 commits a FT Violation is a "do over".

"Real Do Overs" involve resetting the clock (and a need to reset the clock), almost like a time machine.

And in a sandlot baseball game, if we can't agree on safe, or out, we call a "do over", have the base runners return to their bases, the batter returns to the batter's box, and the pitcher throws again with the previous count.

I really don't remember any real do overs in playground basketball.

I do remember an odd rule, the "force out rule". Ball handler A1 gets knocked out of bounds by B1, but instead of a foul, one calls “force out” and Team A gets the ball for a throwin.

We might have even had this rule in high school.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1