The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 04, 2023, 10:33am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 22,729
NBA Call Is Controversially Overturned ...

Great. Just what high school basketball officials need.

If it wasn’t bad enough already, now we’ll have millions of high school players, coaches, and fans thinking that some type of advantage or disadvantage is needed to rule basket interference, or goaltending.



Draymond Green: "My perspective was that my hand touched the rim, because I was going — it looked like the ball was about to pop out — so I was going to get a putback. When I jumped to get the putback, Giddey went back into my legs so it kinda brought my hand down and hit the rim. But hitting the rim is not a goaltend. I didn't affect the shot and we won. I also saw Giddey had pulled the net as well, so there was some confusion.

"Che (official Che Flores) had said if he touched the net and it didn't affect the ball, it's not a goaltend. And she said if I touched the rim and it didn't affect the ball, it wasn't a goaltend. I knew I didn't affect the ball, so I thought it was good."

Crew chief Mitchell Ervin explained the decision after the game to a pool reporter, stating Green's touching of the rim did not cause the ball to take an unnatural bounce: "It was clear and conclusive evidence that Draymond does not touch the ball. Although Draymond does touch the rim, he does not touch the ball, nor does him touching the rim cause the ball to take an unnatural bounce therefore a basketball violation does not occur on the play."
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Nov 04, 2023 at 01:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 04, 2023, 01:11pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 22,729
Not On, Or In, The Basket ...

Announcer: "If the ball is in the cylinder, not matter what, every single time if you hit the rim, it’s always going to be a goaltend".

And millions of high school players, coaches, and fans will think that it's somehow illegal to touch the rim when the ball is in the cylinder.

I won't even comment on the high school difference between basket interference and goaltending because, I believe, that the NBA treats both as the one in the same using interchangeable terms in a single rule.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Nov 04, 2023 at 01:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 04, 2023, 08:06pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,783
It was my understanding that the defender pulled the net first while the ball was in the cylinder before Draymond touched the rim. I could be wrong, but that means the ball would have been dead upon the defensive basket interference and the goal awarded and anything that happened afterwards is irrelevant.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 07:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 670
My take

In my world of HS BB on this play, I agree with Raymond. After watching the clip, the net touch by the defender occurs first so the CC, IMO, would be GT.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lcubed48 View Post
In my world of HS BB on this play, I agree with Raymond. After watching the clip, the net touch by the defender occurs first so the CC, IMO, would be GT.
BI not GT. GT you have to touch the ball. on the downward flight. BI is touching the ball within the cylinder or the basket, or the net/ring while the ball is on or within the basket.

Watching this, it cant be BI either because while the ball was neither on or within the basket with either touch.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 01:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 22,729
Basket Interference ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Watching this, it cant be BI either because while the ball was neither on or within the basket with either touch.
Agree.

Neither the net grab, nor the ring touch, seems to happen when ball is on, or in, the basket (ring, net, or flange). It's in the cylinder above the basket when these two touches occur.

Only way either of these two touches can be NFHS basket interference (offensive or defensive) is if the ball was touched while it was on, or in, the basket or above the basket in the cylinder. The ball was not touched under either of these conditions.

If the ball was on, or in, the basket, or above the basket in the cylinder, nether of these touches would be NFHS goaltending since NFHS goaltending only occurs when the ball is outside the imaginary cylinder (and other criteria).

A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring.

Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, and has the possibility of entering the basket.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 06, 2023 at 04:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 06:46pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,783
Maybe it's just my phone, but it appears the ball touching the back ring or on the flange when the net is pulled.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 07:32pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 22,729
Baseball Is A Game Of Inches ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Maybe it's just my phone, but it appears the ball touching the back ring or on the flange when the net is pulled.
Close. The ball may be in the middle of a bounce above the ring when the net is pulled. It appears the the ball may be in contact with the ring both immediately before the net is pulled and immediately after the net is released from the player's grasp.

Worst view is the overhead view where the ring and ball are straight lined.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Nov 08, 2023 at 11:36am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

Worst view is the overhead view where the ring and ball are strait lined.
The game was played over a body of water?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2023, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
BI not GT. GT you have to touch the ball. on the downward flight. BI is touching the ball within the cylinder or the basket, or the net/ring while the ball is on or within the basket.

Watching this, it cant be BI either because while the ball was neither on or within the basket with either touch.
You're right. I stand corrected.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2023, 11:45am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 22,729
Stupid Spellcheck ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The game was played over a body of water?
Fixed it. Thanks,

Well, North Carolina, Michigan State, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Syracuse, San Diego State, Gonzaga, as well as the the Harlem Globetrotters, have played on the decks of aircraft carriers.



__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Nov 08, 2023 at 11:47am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overturned Balk Forest Ump Baseball 34 Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:11pm
Substitution on Overturned HR yawetag Baseball 7 Tue Sep 13, 2011 07:19am
NU v. Creighton Overturned call SperlingPE Baseball 1 Fri May 20, 2005 08:51pm
CWS ejection overturned tornado Baseball 13 Wed Jun 30, 2004 04:38pm
Worst rule later overturned? utex Basketball 21 Mon May 06, 2002 11:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1