The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   IL Test Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105549-il-test-question.html)

JRutledge Sat Nov 06, 2021 01:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1045430)
The rule here, while not commonly needed, really isn't complicated. As was cited, the arrow is set when the ball is put at the disposal of the thrower and is set to the team not being granted the throwin.

That make D the correct answer since A and B both set the arrow at the wrong time and C sets it to the wrong team.

The question and answers are very clear and there is no ambiguity that I can see in the question. Whoever declared B as the right answer just got it wrong.

Of course. Happens every year. Someone trying to be nuanced and does not put all the pieces together properly. I am sure this will be thrown out. It was not my question this year, so I was good.

Peace

ilyazhito Sat Nov 06, 2021 11:44am

What I meant was that once an event occurs that establishes possession, the AP arrow is set. That means that the subsequent throw-in is not an AP throw-in, so the arrow won't be affected by the ball being thrown in (or not).

bob jenkins Sat Nov 06, 2021 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1045432)
What I meant was that once an event occurs that establishes possession, the AP arrow is set. That means that the subsequent throw-in is not an AP throw-in, so the arrow won't be affected by the ball being thrown in (or not).

Just as there are not FTs int he OP, there's also no "subsequent throw-in."

And, ... if there's a T or IP to start the game, that would "establish possession" yet the arrow would NOT be set until the subsequent throw-in begins.

JRutledge Sat Nov 06, 2021 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1045432)
What I meant was that once an event occurs that establishes possession, the AP arrow is set. That means that the subsequent throw-in is not an AP throw-in, so the arrow won't be affected by the ball being thrown in (or not).

You are way overthinking this. It is just a question on a test, do not add stuff to the question that was not asked.

Peace

ilyazhito Sat Nov 06, 2021 05:39pm

I had a similar question on my test, but my question referenced setting the arrow after technical fouls. That is why I referenced free throws.

BillyMac Sun Nov 07, 2021 09:57am

Twist And Shout (The Beatles, 1964) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1045435)
I had a similar question on my test, but my question referenced setting the arrow after technical fouls. That is why I referenced free throws.

I, more than most, often "twist" situations to explore similar but slightly different situations, but I always point out that it's a "twist", and usually wait until the original situation has been, for the most part, answered. Failing to do that could lead to confusion.

BubbaRef Thu Nov 11, 2021 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045398)
49. Team A violates during the game's opening jump ball. Which of the following is true?

A. The AP arrow is set to team B's basket when the throw-in is completed.

B. The AP arrow is set to team A's basket when the throw-in is completed.

C. The AP arrow is set to team B's basket when the ball is placed at team B's disposal for the throw-in.

D. None of the above.

The answer is B. I had this question 2 years ago and I answered C which was right then. So I answered C again and I got it wrong on this years test. Our association director called Kurt Gibson and he confirmed that the answer is B.

BillyMac Thu Nov 11, 2021 05:08pm

Wrong Time ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1045398)
49. Team A violates during the game's opening jump ball. Which of the following is true?
A. The AP arrow is set to team B's basket when the throw-in is completed.
B. The AP arrow is set to team A's basket when the throw-in is completed.
C. The AP arrow is set to team B's basket when the ball is placed at team B's disposal for the throw-in.
D. None of the above.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045400)
4-3-3-A: Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent’s basket when: The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after: A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control.

This casebook play is close to the situation, but not exactly the same.

4.3.3 SITUATION: During the jump to start the game, A1 slaps the ball out of bounds. Before the ball is at B1’s disposal for a throw-in, B2 is charged with a technical foul. RULING: Team A will attempt two free throws followed by a division-line throw-in opposite the table. When the ball is at the disposal of the thrower of Team A, the arrow will be set pointing toward Team B’s basket.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BubbaRef (Post 1045473)
The answer is B. Our association director called Kurt Gibson and he confirmed that the answer is B.

Then both of you are probably wrong.

The correct answer (I believe) is not listed as a multiple choice answer (the AP arrow is set to team A's basket when the ball is placed at team B's disposal for the throw-in), thus D) None of the above.

Just because Kurt Gibson hit one of the most exciting home runs in World Series history, why should we believe him about a basketball rule question? Wait ... I'm being told ... Kirk Gibson? Never mind.

Raymond Thu Nov 11, 2021 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BubbaRef (Post 1045473)
The answer is B. I had this question 2 years ago and I answered C which was right then. So I answered C again and I got it wrong on this years test. Our association director called Kurt Gibson and he confirmed that the answer is B.

Unfortunately your association director is incorrect. The arrow is set for Team A when the ball is placed at the disposal of Team B for the throw in.



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Thu Nov 11, 2021 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BubbaRef (Post 1045473)
The answer is B. I had this question 2 years ago and I answered C which was right then. So I answered C again and I got it wrong on this years test. Our association director called Kurt Gibson and he confirmed that the answer is B.

I'm pretty sure the question and / or answers changed slightly in the past two years (but I don't have the tests handy to check).

In any event -- your C on this year's test is clearly wrong. The state's official answer appears to be B (based on my discussions with certain individuals about the time I asked the question here), but the correct, rule-based answer is D.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Nov 13, 2021 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1045405)
On a play where the jumper illegally catches the ball, the rationale was it's a possession (an illegal possession) and control, and thus non-violating team should get the ball for the violation and non-violating team get the arrow because the violating team had control first.

Quoth the Raven, “Nevermore.”

I can't remember how other jump ball violations were handled.

How about a little help Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.? Make yourself useful.


Nov. 13/Sat.(12:17pmEST), 2021

Billy:

1) I just now saw your above request because I have been busy this week and will continue to be busy the rest of the weekend.

2) I stopped reading any further comments in order to respond to your request and from what I read I really do not need to read any further. That said, I know that the is a thread regarding this play in the Forum from about 9 or 10 years ago. Monday morning I will look up the thread as well as climb up into the attic (yes, for this play I will climb up into the attic, LOL) and find the actual Casebook Plays (from as early as the late 1980s and early 1990s) from both the NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's Committees.

3) Have a great weekend and GO BROWNS!! BEAT THE PATRIOTS (and the Kosar cutting Belichick)!!

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1