![]() |
Fun With Up And Down …
IAABO Make The Call Video
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...%2FMYUhw%3D%3D Is this a traveling violation? Observe the play and make a judgment as to whether or not this is a traveling violation? Two choices: This is a traveling violation. This is not a traveling violation. My comment: This is not a traveling violation. A player can't travel while fumbling the ball. During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped, or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling. It is always legal to recover a fumble. |
Shot Attempt ...
Any chance that this could be considered a try for goal? A shooter can always retrieve his own airball if the official considers it to be a shot attempt.
|
Change His Mind ...
Looked at it again. Did he really fumble the ball, or did he change his mind and decide not to shoot?
Do either of these (from the Misunderstood Rules List) apply? When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and touches the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. When an airborne shooter fumbles the ball (while still in the air) instead of releasing the ball on a try, drops the ball, and then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball, it’s a traveling violation. |
Travel.
You state: Quote:
SITUATION 1: Al is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, Al fumbles the ball (while stifi in the air) and drops it. Al then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the bail must be released for a try or pass. (4—43-3a; 94) |
I've got a play on. He clearly fumbled the ball and can recover that fumble. Or even if you say it is a shot attempt, he can get his own shot. I think this looked funny and the official called what people would accept.
Peace |
Great Play To Discuss ...
Quote:
Quote:
Does "drops it" imply a deliberate act or an accidental act and does it make a difference? Does the different order of events in the citation versus the video make any difference (video player secured possession before returning to the floor)? Does the citation player regain possession after the fumble and before the drop? Did the video player release the ball on a try? I don't have definite answers for my questions, certainly not good enough answers to go to bat for and to die on a hill for (sorry about the mixed metaphors). This is a great play to discuss. |
Smile, You're On Candid Camera ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Figures ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Can I correctly infer from Billy Mac and bob jenkins's quotes that one is not allowed to start a dribble with no foot on the floor? That if a player who's not touching the floor releases the ball, that action cannot result in a dribble?
|
Quote:
Starting a dribble is a violation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28pm. |