The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 07, 2021, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 567
And 1 or 2 FTs?

End of second period. Drive to the basket A1 gathers the ball on a layup. B1 comes over and fouls him knocking him sideways. You blow your whistle and .5 seconds later the buzzer goes off with A1 clearly still in possession of the ball flying through the air. He tosses it high in the air and 2 minutes later after he has hit the ground it goes in.

And 1 or 2 FTs with .5 seconds left?

Thanks ahead of time, my favorite internet forum.
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 07, 2021, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
2 free throws, with no time on the clock. Yes, the player began his habitual motion, and was fouled during his habitual motion preceding the try or tap for goal. Therefore, the foul is a shooting foul. However, because the ball was not released before time expired, the apparent goal that A1 scored does not count.

Therefore, A1 will attempt 2 free throws with the lane cleared, unless there is definite knowledge of the time when the foul was called.

If there is definite knowledge, the game clock will be reset to the amount of time remaining, and A1 will attempt 2 free throws with the lane spaces occupied.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 07, 2021, 06:50pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
...

If there is definite knowledge, the game clock will be reset to the amount of time remaining, and A1 will attempt 2 free throws with the lane spaces occupied.
If you put time on the clock you and rule it a shooting foul, then the basket counts. How can you put time on a clock and also rule the shot was not released before time expired?



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 07, 2021, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
You're right. If there is definite knowledge that the foul was committed before time expired and the game clock should have stopped, but didn't due to operator error, the try counts, and A1 receives 1 free throw.

With no definite knowledge, the shot can't count, but A1 gets 2 free throws because the foul was in the act of shooting.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2021, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 567
I have been searching the rule book and case book for something that says whether or not you count the basket if released after the buzzer has gone off. Anyone have a rules reference for this?
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2021, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
I have been searching the rule book and case book for something that says whether or not you count the basket if released after the buzzer has gone off. Anyone have a rules reference for this?
I think it's in: The ball becomes dead when .... time expires.

Note that while there's and exception for a try in flight, there's no exception for continuous motion, as there is for when the defense commits a foul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1