The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2003, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Got my "test" back, and have this one marked as wrong and am having a hard time figuring it out why it is wrong. Help me out here please:

A1 secures a rebound off of B's backboard and throws a pass in the direction of the division line. B1 jumps from her frontcourt, catches the ball while airborne, lands with one foot in her frontcourt, then steps into the back court with her other foot. The official calls a backcourt violation. Did the official handle this correctly?

I said Yes...it was marked wrong, and the rule reference given was 9-11-5, which talks about the exceptions allowed for the defensive player to jump from frontcourt, intercept pass, and land in backcourt...my thought process (limited as it is) was that by landing in the frontcourt, the player established frontcourt position and then stepped into backcourt - violation...what am I missing here?

Your thought process is almost correct. Notice that 9-11.5 doesn't say "...land in the backcourt" as you posted. It says, "...land with one or both feet in the backcourt."

The play is legal.

Is this the women's test? If so, can you grade my test?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1