![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...EEXlMZRw%3D%3D IAABO International Play Commentary: Correct Answer: This is a player control foul. The offensive player in the low post receives a pass and starts a dribble toward the basket. As he maneuvers around his opponent, he extends his left arm horizontally before attempting the try. Why do you think he extended his left arm around the defender? It is not legal to extend the arms fully or partially in a position other than vertical so that the freedom of movement of an opponent is hindered when contact with the arms occurs. The extension of the elbows when the hands are on the hips or when the hands are held near the chest or when the arms are held more or less horizontally are examples of the illegal positions used. (4-24-6) In this play, the offensive player extends his left arm horizontally. 66% of respondents see this contact as inhibiting the defensive player's freedom of movement and would charge a player control foul. Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a player control foul 66%. This is incidental contact 34% (including me).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Well without the other angle, I disagree. Nothing even shows he even hooked him in any way. He stuck his arm out, but sticking your arm out does not mean you hooked or used it in any way.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Subjective Judgement Call ...
Quote:
If a ball handler simply sticks his arm out without making any contact, that's nothing. However if the ball handler sticks his arm out, and makes contact, then it becomes a subjective judgement call and one has to consider advantage and disadvantage (I actually viewed this as incidental contact, as did 34% of my IAABO colleagues). If the extended arm prevents the defender from going somewhere he wants to go, it's a player control foul. What made this play so difficult was that the defender was so passive.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Mar 10, 2021 at 01:56pm. |
|
|||
|
That is why I said you need another angle. And the official is standing right there to see this and passes. So for them to come out and suggest that it is definitive does that official and even other officials a disservice if we do not know how that arm was making contact. If that is the case, why didn't they say something about the defender? And that easier to see than what the ball handler is doing.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I am also part of the 34% who considered this as incidental contact. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|