The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
Wonky sitch, but apparently a BCV as per your rulebook citation.

Last edited by Kansas Ref; Sat Jan 23, 2021 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 12:28pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,529
Backcourt ...

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Check. Check. Check. Check.

Look both ways for an exception. None. Check.

Liftoff.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 23, 2021 at 12:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
I have no violation. The player secured control in the air and can land. Yes, the rule doesn't enumerate that exact scenario, but I believe that is what is intended by "defense"...a team that doesn't have the team control gets the team control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 02:27pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,529
Bang Bang Play ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I have no violation. The player secured control in the air and can land. Yes, the rule doesn't enumerate that exact scenario, but I believe that is what is intended by "defense"...a team that doesn't have the team control gets the team control.
It would probably happen so fast in a real game that I wouldn't have time to go through my mental backcourt checklist and I would end up allowing it as an unapproved exception.

On the other hand, on a written test ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 02:40pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Team control no longer existed once A1 releases the ball on the dunk attempt (a "try"), and team control was not established until A2, while in the air, caught the ball. If, as I read the OP, A2 then lands with both feet simultaneously, one foot in the front court and the other in the back court, both A2 and the ball have backcourt status, but the offense would not be "last to touch" in the front court while in team control (BillyMac's third factor), which ended on the try.

I don't see it as an exception, written or unwritten, but the application of the rule consistent with the intent and purpose of the rule. I would have no violation--but I would begin a 10-second count.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 03:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,529
You Are Where You Were ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
... team control was not established until A2, while in the air, caught the ball.
Wouldn't that instantly give the ball frontcourt status?

You are where you were until you get where you're going.

I'm not going to die on this violation hill, but would appreciate some further investigation and discussion.

Since it's not one of the listed exceptions (if we, for sake of argument, disregard purpose and intent), can we concentrate on the "by rule" definition of backcourt.

The four elements for having a backcourt violation here are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

The key to a proper interpretation here lies with the frontcourt/backcourt status of the ball when it's caught (holding the ball means player control and thus team control).

Did the ball achieve frontcourt status while in Team A control?

4-35: The location of a player or non-player is determined by where the person is touching the floor as far as being: In the frontcourt or backcourt. The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.

4-4: A ball which is in contact with a player is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player is touching the backcourt. A ball which is in contact with a player is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 23, 2021 at 04:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 04:24pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
In the OP, we don't know from where A2 jumping into the air to catch the ball, front or back. Nonetheless, let's change the facts slightly.

A1 shoots, B1 grabs the rebound and throws a long outlet to B2 at midcourt. A2, in his/her front court, jumps, intercepts/catches the pass, and lands with one foot in his/her front court and the other in the backcourt.

If you are arguing that A2 catching the ball while airborne from the front court gives the ball front court status, so that it's a BCV when he/she lands, I don't think the rules are meant to be applied that way. One of the many unforeseen glitches in the rules, perhaps.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Team control no longer existed once A1 releases the ball on the dunk attempt (a "try"), and team control was not established until A2, while in the air, caught the ball. If, as I read the OP, A2 then lands with both feet simultaneously, one foot in the front court and the other in the back court, both A2 and the ball have backcourt status, but the offense would not be "last to touch" in the front court while in team control (BillyMac's third factor), which ended on the try.

I don't see it as an exception, written or unwritten, but the application of the rule consistent with the intent and purpose of the rule. I would have no violation--but I would begin a 10-second count.
So you don’t think that a player holding the ball in the front court near the division line violates if he pivots and steps onto the division line?

The elements of team control, status of the ball, last to touch, and first to touch are all the same in that situation as in the one given by the OP (with the clarification that A2 jumps from his front court to catch the rebound).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Team control no longer existed once A1 releases the ball on the dunk attempt (a "try"), and team control was not established until A2, while in the air, caught the ball. If, as I read the OP, A2 then lands with both feet simultaneously, one foot in the front court and the other in the back court, both A2 and the ball have backcourt status, but the offense would not be "last to touch" in the front court while in team control (BillyMac's third factor), which ended on the try.

I don't see it as an exception, written or unwritten, but the application of the rule consistent with the intent and purpose of the rule. I would have no violation--but I would begin a 10-second count.
If that were true, then a "touched loose ball" on a throw-in would have the same exception -- as was once debated vociferously on here. The NFHS made it clear that wasn't the case. There's only a "defense" if one team is in control. If neither team is in control, then there's no offense nor defense (at least for this rule).

I agree it *shouldn't* be a violation, but I think it is.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2021, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I have no violation. The player secured control in the air and can land. Yes, the rule doesn't enumerate that exact scenario, but I believe that is what is intended by "defense"...a team that doesn't have the team control gets the team control.
The old wording of the rule contained a phrase similar to “a player from a team not in control.” That wording permitted this play, however that part of the exception went away with the change to the text.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt violation furlu55 Basketball 12 Fri Feb 17, 2012 05:48pm
Backcourt violation? rawhi1 Basketball 8 Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:17am
Backcourt violation cmhjordan23 Basketball 12 Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:09pm
Backcourt violation??? UmpJM Basketball 1 Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:15pm
Backcourt Violation Bizket786 Basketball 2 Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1