The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 09:15pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Here is the play (Video)



Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Normal landing, correct no-call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 11:53pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Not a backcourt violation because he had jumped and is allowed a normal landing, but he most definitely traveled.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Nov 27, 2020 at 11:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 11:57pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Not a backcourt violation because he had jumped in his allowed a normal landing, but he most definitely traveled.
I was wondering if someone was going to mention that part. It does look that way, but not the best angle from the video.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 28, 2020, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Not a backcourt violation because he had jumped and is allowed a normal landing, but he most definitely traveled.
Agree, on both counts.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2020, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Not a backcourt violation because he had jumped and is allowed a normal landing, but he most definitely traveled.
My exact words.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2020, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Is the rule different between NCAA and HS? I Don't see "normal landing " specified for FED.
I see 9.9.1A

Truthfully, I'd have called a BCV. And, I'm normally pretty lenient, but this seems too obvious. Am I wrong here?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2020, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Is the rule different between NCAA and HS? I Don't see "normal landing " specified for FED.
I see 9.9.1A

Truthfully, I'd have called a BCV. And, I'm normally pretty lenient, but this seems too obvious. Am I wrong here?
Yes. Read Rule 9-9-3 for FED.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2020, 06:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
With regards to the travel after the correct no call regarding whether there was a back court or not, I would bet that the official was processing the back court situation and the time remaining and flat out missed the travel.....type of situation that either sends an official to the next round of the NCAA's or sends him home.
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2020, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
Yes. Read Rule 9-9-3 for FED.
I'm sorry, but I completely disagree! That is not the correct rule for this situation.

9-9-3 applies to a player who jumps and possesses the ball with both feet off the ground and may make a "normal landing". He never "took off", he was still on the "runway".
He catches the ball with his foot on the floor. The editor even paused the video!

I question, Why would the video be shown if it were so obvious the correct ruling was made?

To me, the case plays describe "what is or is not a BCV"!

Ok, let me have it!
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xavier-Maryland video request OKREF Basketball 2 Thu Mar 16, 2017 09:09pm
Seton Hall/Xavier continuous motion (video request) JetMetFan Basketball 23 Sat Mar 12, 2016 03:40pm
Block/Charge? G'town v Xavier (video request) Nevadaref Basketball 0 Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:52pm
Video request: Memphis/Xavier inbounds play Nevadaref Basketball 12 Fri Mar 01, 2013 08:35pm
VC vs Xavier video request justacoach Basketball 0 Sat Feb 23, 2013 04:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1