The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2020, 01:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
#2: Read the case again. It is illegal if either foot is lifted prior to starting a dribble...that is a travel.
Sorry that it took me so long to reply to this, but I forgot about this discussion because the thread turned into Billymac and Raymond going back and forth.

In this particular case, what you write above is not correct. The reason is that the first foot which is lifted is not the pivot, so a dribble may be started without causing a traveling violation.

PIVOT
4.33 SITUATION: A1 catches the ball while both feet are off the floor, alights on one foot, jumps off that foot and comes to a stop with both feet simultaneously hitting the floor. A1 then lifts one foot and throws for a goal or passes. RULING: Legal. A1 may lift either foot in passing or trying for a goal in this situation. However, A1 may not pivot; that is, A1 may not lift one foot from the floor and then step (touch the floor) with that foot before the ball has left the hand(s). By rule, a pivot means a player “steps once or more than once with the same foot...” (4-44-2a(3); 4-44-4a)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2020, 02:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Sorry that it took me so long to reply to this, but I forgot about this discussion because the thread turned into Billymac and Raymond going back and forth.

In this particular case, what you write above is not correct. The reason is that the first foot which is lifted is not the pivot, so a dribble may be started without causing a traveling violation.

PIVOT
4.33 SITUATION: A1 catches the ball while both feet are off the floor, alights on one foot, jumps off that foot and comes to a stop with both feet simultaneously hitting the floor. A1 then lifts one foot and throws for a goal or passes. RULING: Legal. A1 may lift either foot in passing or trying for a goal in this situation. However, A1 may not pivot; that is, A1 may not lift one foot from the floor and then step (touch the floor) with that foot before the ball has left the hand(s). By rule, a pivot means a player “steps once or more than once with the same foot...” (4-44-2a(3); 4-44-4a)

Rule 4-44-4b says otherwise:
After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot: Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2020, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Rule 4-44-4b says otherwise:
After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot: Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.
Excellent point, sir! I agree that we must go with that direct and clear rule despite any interpretations or case play rulings which may be unclear or contradict it.

Point to Camron.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2020, 12:18pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Two Roads Diverged In A Wood (Robert Frost, 1916) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I agree that we must go with that direct and clear rule despite any interpretations or case play rulings which may be unclear or contradict it.
I usually go the other way.

Casebook plays and annual interpretations, especially those that are up to date (deleted, new, edited, changed, due to rule changes), tend to involve very specific circumstances with very specific rulings that tend to be quite clear.

I often view some casebook plays and annual interpretations as "exceptions" to the rules as written, some regarding "odd" situations not specifically covered by the more generic written rules.

And yes, casebook plays and annual interpretations sometimes conflict with the rules as written.

Stupid NFHS.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 24, 2020 at 12:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2020, 07:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Sorry that it took me so long to reply to this, but I forgot about this discussion because the thread turned into Billymac and Raymond going back and forth.

In this particular case, what you write above is not correct. The reason is that the first foot which is lifted is not the pivot, so a dribble may be started without causing a traveling violation.

PIVOT
4.33 SITUATION: A1 catches the ball while both feet are off the floor, alights on one foot, jumps off that foot and comes to a stop with both feet simultaneously hitting the floor. A1 then lifts one foot and throws for a goal or passes. RULING: Legal. A1 may lift either foot in passing or trying for a goal in this situation. However, A1 may not pivot; that is, A1 may not lift one foot from the floor and then step (touch the floor) with that foot before the ball has left the hand(s). By rule, a pivot means a player “steps once or more than once with the same foot...” (4-44-2a(3); 4-44-4a)
The case does not address the question of lifting the foot before starting a dribble.

It says that lift and:

a) pass -- legal
b) shoot -- legal
c) re-place on the floor -- illegal
d) dribble -- not addressed (but I agree it's illegal)
e) call TO -- not addressed (but it's legal)

Under MOST circumstances, a player has one pivot foot (restricted movement) and one free foot (movement mostly unrestricted). When a player completes this type of jump stop (jump off one foot, land on both simultaneously), the movement of both feet is restricted. When a player executes the other type of jump stop (gather in the air and land on both feet simultaneously), the movement of both is unrestricted (at least at first, until one of them is moved)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Nov 24, 2020 at 09:12am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2020, 10:06am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Competitive Debate: Rules And Techniques (George McCoy Musgrave, 1957) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
BillyMac and Raymond going back and forth.
Lively, professional, spirited, respectful, educational, polite debate.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2020 NFHS Basketball Rules Questionnaire ... BillyMac Basketball 7 Mon Feb 17, 2020 04:37pm
2020 online rule books Cliffdweller Softball 6 Wed Dec 25, 2019 09:05am
2012-13 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations ... BillyMac Basketball 14 Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:18pm
Basketball Interpretations ronny mulkey Basketball 34 Sat Oct 15, 2011 06:06am
NFHS 2009-10 Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 3 Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 23 Sun Nov 29, 2009 10:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1