The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2003, 12:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Barry C. Morris
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Barry C. Morris
Quote:
Originally posted by bludevil1221
I'm trying to re-enact the play in head, bear with me.....So if A1 drives to the basket, picks up the ball, takes his two steps, then hops......? This is really hard to talk about without a visual aid...
Picture this:

a player catches or pass (or picks up his dribble) with both feet off of the floor. The first foot to touch when he lands is the pivot foot. He lands on pivot foot, steps, leaping off of the other foot. He may now land on both feet provided he lands on both feet simultaneously. Once he lands, neither foot can be a pivot. He may step but he can not place a foot back down.
Sorry, Barry -- that won't work. Once the second foot touches, the first foot becomnes the pivot foot, and moving (lifting then placing on the floor) that foot is travelling.

What you meant to say was: a player catches a pass (or picks up his dribble) with both feet off the floor and lands on one foot, or catches a pass with one foot on the floor. He jumps off of that foot before the other foot hits the floor. HE may now land on both feet proveded he lands simultaneously. Once he lands, neither foot can be a pivot.

Also, note that some coaches call "catching the ball with both feet off the floor and landing on both feet simultaneously" a jump stop. In this case, either foot can be a pivot.
Bob, I think we are both seeing the same play here but it is hard to put into words. The second foot does not have to touch to make the first foot to touch the pivot foot. If a player is in the air when he catches the ball, the first foot to come down, if not simultaneous, is the pivot foot. The step that I described after the pivot foot lands assumes the player had forward momentum and the pivot foot is not lifted before the jump.
Barry, without regard to what you're "seeing," what you described in the other post is traveling. The dribbler can't jump off the second foot in the scenario you describe. He would have to jump off the pivot foot without the second foot initially touching the floor.

Bob was correct.

PS - Oops! I see now, on page 2, where you realized your mistake. Sorry!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1