The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   losing control of throw in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104999-losing-control-throw.html)

bucky Thu Feb 27, 2020 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1037853)
It's no different from the play where A1 muffs / bobbles the pass or fumbles the ball and Coach B wants traveling. "You mean they could do that all the way down the court?" is the usual comment.

In practice it's just not that difficult.

Good analogy. I half agree. Inbounds, the fumble results in the player moving some place and play continues from that place. During an inbound, they would have to return to the original place and begin again. Additionally, in your scenario, they are not necessarily rewarded for a negative play. For an inbounder, they get rewarded with a new count. That case (NCAAM) is a tough sell.

BillyMac Fri Feb 28, 2020 11:41am

Designated Spot ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1037928)
... During an inbound, they would have to return to the original place and begin again ...

Are you saying that the inbounder can legally leave the designated spot to retrieve the fumbled ball but must then return to the designated spot to make the throwin?

Not by rule:

7-6-3: The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until
the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. See 4-42-6.

4-42-6: The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth -
limitation and is established and signaled by the official prior to putting the
ball at the thrower’s disposal.
NOTE: The thrower must keep one foot on or over the designated spot
until the ball is released. The traveling and dribbling rules are not in effect
for a throw-in.


When he leaves the designated spot, sound the whistle.

bucky Sat Feb 29, 2020 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1037934)
Are you saying that the inbounder can legally leave the designated spot to retrieve the fumbled ball but must then return to the designated spot to make the throwin?

Not by rule:

7-6-3: The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until
the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. See 4-42-6.

4-42-6: The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth -
limitation and is established and signaled by the official prior to putting the
ball at the thrower’s disposal.
NOTE: The thrower must keep one foot on or over the designated spot
until the ball is released. The traveling and dribbling rules are not in effect
for a throw-in.


When he leaves the designated spot, sound the whistle.

As I referenced in my post, in NCAAM, they can leave the designated spot. This is also my point of contention. In NCAAM, they could fumble for eternity, leave the spot and go all kinds of places, and not be penalized. I'm going to try this in my next Alumni game and see what the officials do. :cool:

NCAAM Case Book:
A.R. 180. A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles the ball. A1 leaves
the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation?
RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow
his whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall
re-administer the throw-in.
(Rule 7-6.8.d and 4-16.1)

bob jenkins Sat Feb 29, 2020 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1037954)
As I referenced in my post, in NCAAM, they can leave the designated spot. This is also my point of contention. In NCAAM, they could fumble for eternity, leave the spot and go all kinds of places, and not be penalized. I'm going to try this in my next Alumni game and see what the officials do.

Those words are contradictory.

thedewed Sun Mar 08, 2020 10:27am

I forgot I asked this, and came back to see what you guys thought of the last play in the KU game. on the fumble interpretation in the college ruling, I would think that if the player fumbled as he was making a throw, that's different than if he's humbled before he has Made any attempt to throw it in. If not, where do you draw the line? If he goes to throw it and it slips and goes out of bounds along the other, but clearly slipped out of his hand, do you let him redo that?

Raymond Sun Mar 08, 2020 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedewed (Post 1038116)
I forgot I asked this, and came back to see what you guys thought of the last play in the KU game. on the fumble interpretation in the college ruling, I would think that if the player fumbled as he was making a throw, that's different than if he's humbled before he has Made any attempt to throw it in. If not, where do you draw the line? If he goes to throw it and it slips and goes out of bounds along the other, but clearly slipped out of his hand, do you let him redo that?

What play are you speaking of?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bucky Mon Mar 09, 2020 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1037955)
Those words are contradictory.

Nah, I am savvy enough to make it appear like a fumble.;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1