The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2019, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Legal Dribble?

https://twitter.com/ballislife/statu...901953025?s=21

See attached video. On about the third dribble between the legs the ball hits right hand and he continues dribble. Right hand hits ball 2nd time before hitting floor. I can’t find anything making this illegal. Right or wrong using NFHS?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2019, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,623
At one point for a split second, I believe he touched the ball with both hands simultaneously. That ends the dribble and makes a subsequent dribble illegal.

That’s theoretical. In real time, unless you were cued in and looking for this, it’s very hard to ever be sure.

I had a dribble on a drive yesterday when I think something like this happened. Trail in 2-p crew, play going away from me. A couple defenders’ body language seemed to confirm my suspicion, but it was a flash-in-the-pan play that I didn’t have anywhere near the certainty needed to put a whistle on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2019, 07:51am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
https://twitter.com/ballislife/statu...901953025?s=21

See attached video. On about the third dribble between the legs the ball hits right hand and he continues dribble. Right hand hits ball 2nd time before hitting floor. I can’t find anything making this illegal. Right or wrong using NFHS?
4-15 ART. 2
During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).


Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2019, 09:17am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,916
Possible Carry ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
On about the third dribble between the legs the ball hits right hand and he continues dribble.
From the front camera angle, I don't think the ball actually touches his left hand, it just barely misses it. However, in my NFHS game I would consider the hand movement at the 9 second mark as a possible carry. I wouldn't make the call in this instance, but would be on the lookout to get a good look at it for the rest of the game (again assuming it's a high school game).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Dec 21, 2019 at 11:28am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 01:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Imo the dribble ended when it came to rest in his right hand. Illegal dribble after that.

You also could call a carry if you didnt feel it came to rest.

I have illegal dribble either way.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Imo the dribble ended when it came to rest in his right hand. Illegal dribble after that.

You also could call a carry if you didnt feel it came to rest.
What's the (rules-based) difference?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 10:14am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,916
Carry ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
You also could call a carry if you didn't feel it came to rest.
You could? Citation please.

4-15-4-B: The dribble ends when: The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in
one or both hands.


Palming, or carrying, is when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or illegally dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the dribbler’s hand stays on top of the ball, and the ball does not come to rest in the dribbler’s hand.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 05, 2020 at 11:28am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Imo the dribble ended when it came to rest in his right hand. Illegal dribble after that.

You also could call a carry if you didnt feel it came to rest.

I have illegal dribble either way.
As Billy and Bob said, those are the same thing.

Until about a 10-15 years ago, we didn't have a carry call/signal in the book. It was an illegal dribble. The carry is just a special case of an illegal (double) dribble. It is simply a quick ending of the dribble and a new (illegal) dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 12:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,916
Travel Carry ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The carry is just a special case of an illegal (double) dribble. It is simply a quick ending of the dribble and a new (illegal) dribble.
Agree.

A carry signal can also be used when a ball handler "cups" the ball in one hand and takes several steps without dribbling (no second illegal dribble), usually when "rounding" a corner.

Of course one could just give the travel signal (which it actually is), but that might leave some coaches and fans questioning the absence of the ball handler holding the ball with two hands (ignoring the subtlety of the dribble ending when the ball came to rest in the dribbler's hand).

Carry signal. It's an illegal dribble signal. It's a travel signal. It's two, two, two signals in one.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 06, 2020 at 02:26pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal end of a dribble? Scrapper1 Basketball 14 Tue Nov 13, 2012 08:30pm
Legal dribble ? PP Basketball 2 Thu Feb 03, 2011 01:21pm
Legal dribble or not? Scrapper1 Basketball 97 Wed Jan 26, 2011 03:03pm
legal or illegal dribble iref4him Basketball 95 Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:21am
illegal/legal dribble OHBBREF Basketball 6 Tue Oct 28, 2008 06:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1