![]() |
Leaving the bench prematurely?
A fellow official saw this in a college game the other day:
With time running out in the 4th quarter, team A takes the lead with 2 seconds left on the clock. With the excitement of their team taking the lead, some of the fans and a couple of the players (bench personnel) run onto the floor to celebrate the victory (prematurely). What do you do as the referee? Thanks |
If it’s a NFHS game, immediately upon the score I’m looking for the opposing timeout if they have one. If they do, grant it, note the exact time on the clock, replace time if you have definite knowledge, and clean up but otherwise ignore the shenanigans as it occurred basically simultaneously with the timeout call. Some may disagree but that’s how I would handle it and/or discuss it with my crew.
If the opposing team doesn’t have a timeout or chooses not to use one, or if it isn’t called absolutely immediately, then I have a bench technical per 10-5-2. Standing by for the NCAA interps of this case. It’s a little different there since the clock automatically stops in this situation. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Fans running onto the court is an administrative technical foul (10.2.8.d). The players coming onto the court is a class B technical foul charged to each player, and a class B technical foul charged to the head coach (10.4.2.h). Shoot two free throws (one for the administrative technical foul and one for the class B technical foul) and return to the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for B with 2 seconds left with the right to run the endline.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
You’re conflating 10-5-2 with 10-5-5. 10-5-2 is adequate here and has nothing to do with a fight/fighting. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
A.R. 263. Team B leads, 67-66. A1’s two-point try for goal is successful, but there is no indication that time has expired. Assuming that the successful try was a game-ending and winning goal: 1. Bench personnel from Team A; or 2. Fans from Team A go onto the playing court to celebrate. RULING: When the celebration causes a delay by preventing the ball from being promptly made live or prevents continuous play: 1: A CLASS B technical foul shall be assessed to the head coach of Team A. The coach’s technical foul does not count toward the team foul total but does count toward the coach’s ejection. 2: An administrative technical foul shall be assessed to the offending team. This administrative technical foul does not apply to the team foul total. Any player from Team B shall attempt one free throw and play shall resume at the point of interruption. When the celebration does not delay or interfere with play, the celebration shall be ignored. (Rule 10-2.8.d and Penalty, and 10-4.2.h and Penalty) |
Thank You
|
Quote:
Thanks |
Quote:
|
Bench Personnel ...
Quote:
Enter the court unless by permission of an official to attend an injured player. |
Quote:
That said, if the both went out, the first would stop all action, so the second wouldn't further delay the game. |
That makes sense, however there is no current A.R. that addresses both situations happening as the OP describes. My solution might resolve the OP situation.
|
Quote:
|
And Who's Jiminy Cricket ???
Quote:
https://youtu.be/pP4aIH9s_ZI https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.E...=0&w=210&h=163 |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17am. |