The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 02:52am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,301
2019-20 NFHS Interpretations

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2019-20
By NFHS on October 09, 2019

(Underlining shows additions; strikethrough shows deletions.)

RULES BOOK CORRECTIONS: 4-41-7 (Page 41): Remove “or try for field goal;” 10-6-1 NOTE (Page 66): Add “and any number of assistant coaches” after “head coach.”

CASE BOOK CORRECTIONS: 3.5.4 SITUATION B (Page 23): Ruling for (c) should be Illegal Legal.

OFFICIALS MANUAL CORRECTIONS: 4.4.3B Held Ball (Page 53): Replace “for a held ball immediately. There is no need to raise a hand for the stopclock signal” so that it reads “Give the signal to stop the clock for a violation followed by the signal for a held ball;” 5.4.3B Held Ball (Page 89): Replace “for a held ball immediately” so that it reads “Give the signal to stop the clock for a violation followed by the signal for a held ball.”

SITUATION 1: A1 is waiting at the table to substitute into the game. The official recognizes the substitute is wearing pre-wrap tied in the back as a headband. RULING: The substitute is permitted to enter the game wearing the pre-wrap as a headband provided it meets all the guidelines for a headband. (3-5-4b)

SITUATION 2: A1 is wearing a ribbon to control her hair. RULING: Illegal. Ribbons are considered decorations and the athlete should not be allowed to enter the contest while wearing a ribbon in the hair. (3-5-4e)

SITUATION 3: Members on Team A are wearing headbands that have two manufacturers’ logos. RULING: Team A members wearing headbands with two manufacturers’ logos should not be allowed to enter the contest until the headbands are removed. Headbands with one manufacturer’s logo should meet the headband requirements. (3-5- 4, 3-6)

SITUATION 4: Team A is wearing a patch on its uniforms to honor one of its teammates who was injured in an accident. The patch is the school logo with his/her number on it. RULING: This is not legal. A commemorative/memorial patch may be worn on the jersey, provided it is not a logo or number, and must be worn above the neckline or in the side insert. Such patches shall not exceed 4 square inches. (3-4-2c)

SITUATION 5: B1 is observed wearing a mouthguard, but no other member of Team B is wearing this type of equipment. RULING: This is legal (personal choice), but is not mandatory. (3-8)

SITUATION 6: During the pre-game warm-up period, an official notices that A1 is wearing a religious medal on the end of a chain. RULING: The player shall be instructed that in order to wear the religious medal, the medal must be taped to the body and worn under the uniform. (3-5-4 EXCEPTION b)

SITUATION 7: A player, for religious reasons, may not wear shorts. Would he/she be able to wear tights under the basketball uniform shorts or warmups instead of shorts? RULING: NFHS basketball uniform rules do not require that the uniform pants be “shorts.” Wearing tights below the uniform shorts would be legal. The player has the option of wearing long pants as the uniform “bottom” to be in compliance with NFHS rules as well. (3-4-5, 3-5-3)

SITUATION 8: During the pre-game warm-up, the officials observe that A4 is wearing a ring with tape covering it. The officials notify A’s head coach that A4 must remove the ring in order to participate in the pre-game warm-up and the game. The coach and A4 respond that the ring cannot physically be removed. RULING: The referee informs A’s head coach that A4 cannot participate while wearing a ring, even with the tape covering it. (3-5-7)

SITUATION 9: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 10: At halftime, Team A is leading the game. A1, A2 and A3 are passing the ball among themselves to run time off the clock while not allowing Team B to gain control of the ball. B1 goes out and pushes A1 to stop the clock. The official calls a personal foul. RULING: Incorrect call. The foul was deliberate and should have been called an intentional foul. A1 should shoot two free throws and Team A should be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. (4-19-3c)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:13am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
Freddy's Not Dead ...

Thanks Freddy.

Could somebody in authority please add these to the interpretations "sticky".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:17am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,368


"CASE BOOK CORRECTIONS: 3.5.4 SITUATION B (Page 23): Ruling for (c) should be Illegal Legal."
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:18am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
Tights, Long Pants ...

SITUATION 7: A player, for religious reasons, may not wear shorts. Would he/she be able to wear tights under the basketball uniform shorts or warmups instead of shorts? RULING: NFHS basketball uniform rules do not require that the uniform pants be “shorts.” Wearing tights below the uniform shorts would be legal. The player has the option of wearing long pants as the uniform “bottom” to be in compliance with NFHS rules as well. (3-4-5, 3-5-3)

Long pants can be any color. Correct?

Tights worn below the uniform shorts must be the solid color black, white, beige, or the predominant color of the jersey. Correct?

I'm surprised the NFHS didn't make this distinction in the interpretation.

A lost teachable moment.

Must be a paper shortage at the NFHS.

Maybe they're running out of ink in their printers.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 10, 2019 at 08:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:23am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
If It's Not Legal It's Illegal ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post


"CASE BOOK CORRECTIONS: 3.5.4 SITUATION B (Page 23): Ruling for (c) should be Illegal Legal."
I was also initially confused, until I remembered that in previous posts Freddy told us that strikethroughs and underlining don't carry over from the NFHS website to the Forum.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:24am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,368
Billy, didn't we have a long discussion about this play or something similar?

"SITUATION 9: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)"
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:25am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I was also initially confused, until I remembered that in previous posts Freddy told us that strikethroughs and underlining don't carry over from the NFHS website to the Forum.
Looks like Freddy has some work to do then.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,553
8/10 interps are fashion police. That might be a new record.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
SITUATION 10: At halftime, Team A is leading the game. A1, A2 and A3 are passing the ball among themselves to run time off the clock while not allowing Team B to gain control of the ball. B1 goes out and pushes A1 to stop the clock. The official calls a personal foul. RULING: Incorrect call. The foul was deliberate and should have been called an intentional foul. A1 should shoot two free throws and Team A should be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. (4-19-3c)
At the risk of being pedantic (and beating a dead horse), does no one who knows proper terminology review these interps?

Also, "at halftime" implies that the first half is over.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:33am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
Fool Me Once, Shame On You ...

... Fool me twice, shame on me.

SITUATION 8: During the pre-game warm-up, the officials observe that A4 is wearing a ring with tape covering it. The officials notify A’s head coach that A4 must remove the ring in order to participate in the pre-game warm-up and the game. The coach and A4 respond that the ring cannot physically be removed. RULING: The referee informs A’s head coach that A4 cannot participate while wearing a ring, even with the tape covering it. (3-5-7)

During my foolish years as a young adult, on two occasions I wore my wedding ring while playing basketball that resulted in major injuries (ring caught in outdoor metal net resulting in the ring cutting my finger to the bone, finger jammed that became swollen overnight with ring acting as a tourniquet).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:44am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
Technical Foul ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
"at halftime" implies that the first half is over.
Agree. So it must be a dead ball intentional contact technical foul.

Does anybody at the NFHS read these before publishing?

Shouldn't they have an editor? Wait ... I'm being told ... Who ... Theresia Wynns ... Never mind.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 08:56am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Ole Oak Tree ...

(Tony Orlando and Dawn, 1973)

SITUATION 2: A1 is wearing a ribbon to control her hair. RULING: Illegal. Ribbons are considered decorations and the athlete should not be allowed to enter the contest while wearing a ribbon in the hair. (3-5-4e)

3-5-D: Rubber, cloth or elastic bands may be used to control hair.


I've been screwing this up for forty years. Ribbons are made of cloth. Cloth is a legal material for hair control devices. How does one use a cloth ribbon to control hair? By tying it in a knot.

I've always allowed cloth ribbons tied in a simple knot, or simple bow (as used to tie one's shoes) to be used to control hair.

I guess that I was wrong. Not the first time, won't be the last time.

I'll be sure to rule this situation correctly for the next forty years.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 09:10am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
Close, But No Cigar ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Billy, didn't we have a long discussion about this play or something similar?
Great memory Raymond.

When I first started reading the interpretation, I said to myself, "Finally, a citation for that weird situation that we discussed many months ago on the Forum".

But after checking my notes, I determined that this was not the same situation we discussed.

SITUATION 9: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

The situation that we discussed many months ago was when a dribbler in the frontcourt puts a foot into the backcourt even though the dribbler isn't touching the ball at the time (Violation. Why? Because my mother said so.).

The earlier discussion dealt with the foot touching the division line, the recent interpretation deals with the ball touching the division line.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 10, 2019 at 10:52am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 09:18am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
Division Line ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Does anybody at the NFHS read these before publishing? Shouldn't they have an editor? Wait ... I'm being told ... Who ... Theresia Wynns ... Never mind.
SITUATION 9: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

In ancient times the midcourt (twenty-eight foot) line separated the midcourt from the forecourt, and among other things, was used to allow a new five second closely guarded count when the dribbler crossed the midcourt line moving forward.

Doesn't anybody at the NFHS read their own stuff?

2018-19 NFHS Basketball Points of Emphasis
Officiating Professionalism And Use Of Proper Terminology
Division Line (Not Center, Mid-Court, or Time Line)


Silly monkeys (In Memoriam, Jurassic Referee).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 10, 2019 at 09:27am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
(Tony Orlando and Dawn, 1973)

SITUATION 2: A1 is wearing a ribbon to control her hair. RULING: Illegal. Ribbons are considered decorations and the athlete should not be allowed to enter the contest while wearing a ribbon in the hair. (3-5-4e)

3-5-D: Rubber, cloth or elastic bands may be used to control hair.


I've been screwing this up for forty years. Ribbons are made of cloth. Cloth is a legal material for hair control devices. How does one use a cloth ribbon to control hair? By tying it in a knot.

I've always allowed cloth ribbons tied in a simple knot, or simple bow (as used to tie one's shoes) to be used to control hair.

I guess that I was wrong. Not the first time, won't be the last time.

I'll be sure to rule this situation correctly for the next forty years.
You are mis-reading the rule.

It's NOT:
the following may be used:
a. rubber
b. cloth
c. elastic bands

It's "a band made of rubber or cloth or elastic may be used ...", or "A rubber band, a cloth band or an elastic band may be used ..."
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 09:35am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,773
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
You are mis-reading the rule. It's NOT: the following may be used: a. rubber b. cloth c. elastic bands. It's "a band made of rubber or cloth or elastic may be used ...", or "A rubber band, a cloth band or an elastic band may be used ..."
I actually thought about that (for the first time in forty years) before my recent post.

Makes sense. Thanks bob jenkins.

Nitpicking here. Prewrap used as a hair control device is not in the form of a band, but is tied in a knot. So would it be legal as a headband, but not legal as a hair control device? (Note: The recent interpretation is regarding prewrap used as a headband)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 10, 2019 at 11:31am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The New in the NFHS 2019-20 Casebook Freddy Basketball 6 Mon Aug 19, 2019 02:51pm
2019-20 NFHS Rules Changes SC Official Basketball 91 Fri Jun 21, 2019 10:29am
2019 NFHS Questionnaire Rich Basketball 79 Fri Feb 15, 2019 06:56pm
2019 nfhs agr8zebra Softball 3 Sun Feb 03, 2019 01:22pm
2019 NFHS Rule Changes Stat-Man Softball 16 Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1