![]() |
|
|||
|
Re: the step backs play 1 & 2. NFHS rules if he's got the ball in two hands (or has in the official's mind ended his dribble) with that plant foot on the floor then pushes back into a hop if he doesn't land on 2 simultaneously its a travel.
NOW: - That is the rule in NCAA and NFHS. FIBA, NBA, etc that is not a travel anymore. I concede it is an NCAA game so move on. - The judgement elements. Official must clearly be able to see dribble ended. Ie if he steps back while 1 hand stayed on top or on side of ball he could in theory just be taking a long high dribble. So Official must be sure dribble ended with push foot still on floor. Official must also be sure feet came down seperately. If a game where they are officiating the defense that is a lot of if's. - The when in Rome factor. Reality of spacial advantage is not realisitcally that drastic from landing on 2 and a quick 1-2. So ignoring/choosing to allow the move isn't creating that drastic of an advantage and is one the high level players/coaches/leagues are now expecting to be allowed regardless of how rule of written. Could you call it a travel and be right by rule. You betcha. I don't have to make that determination anymore because regardless its not a travel in my rule set.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2019 NIT Plays (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 14 | Thu Mar 28, 2019 01:06pm |
| Video Request (This is the thread) - December 21, 2016 | JRutledge | Basketball | 22 | Thu Dec 22, 2016 04:34pm |
| Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 8 | Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm |
| NCAA Tournament Video Request Thread | Rich | Basketball | 69 | Thu Apr 05, 2012 06:58pm |