The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   UCF/Duke (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104490-ucf-duke.html)

thedewed Sun Mar 24, 2019 07:49pm

Definite push in the back late on the Zion missed FT. 2 hands in the back, Dawkins goes flying to the other side of the rim, and immediately complains to the officials. A big miss.

JRutledge Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1031557)
7:38 second half. Foul or good block?

Play #1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/OmFz3pDGQaA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1031566)
NO PC on Zion on the drive with 17 seconds left before the Taco foul? Thoughts?

Play #2:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/R88C2ca4zKw" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1031556)
At 11:02 in the second half is a great example of the backcourt exception on throw-ins. Officiated correctly and a straightforward play if you know the rules, but something plenty of people would grumble about.

Play #3:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bfjNqs3CRUE" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

johnny d Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:23pm

Play 2 should have been a player control foul before zion made it to the secondary defender.

JRutledge Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedewed (Post 1031572)
Definite push in the back late on the Zion missed FT. 2 hands in the back, Dawkins goes flying to the other side of the rim, and immediately complains to the officials. A big miss.

Play #4:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/w7eYkSwKNfQ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Rich Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1031570)
Foul.

But the officials turned it into a 1-and-1 during the break somehow. Missed the front end and play went on

That's the kind of mistake that will likely cost them S16 assignments.

Except it's quite possible the block was clean and the foul was during the subsequent loose ball period.

johnny d Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:37pm

Jeff, play 3 and 4 are the same play.

Raymond Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1031576)
Play #1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/OmFz3pDGQaA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

...

Peace

Let shot blockers block shots. Leads, leave plays alone that are on the other side of the basket.

In my pregames.



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

cmb Mon Mar 25, 2019 02:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1031580)
Except it's quite possible the block was clean and the foul was during the subsequent loose ball period.

The lead clearly points at the basket as he is making his foul call, signaling he has the foul occurring on a shot attempt.

To your point, the video shows there is virtually no contact after the shot attempt ends.

Between the actual play and the lead’s mechanics while calling the foul, I’m unsure how this ended up as a 1-and-1 and not 2 shots.

jakeas2 Mon Mar 25, 2019 08:28am

C makes the call
 
It's interesting to me in play #2 that the C actually calls the foul on Tacko and not the Lead. It's the right call but makes me think that the foul was not for being grounded in the restricted area.

Rich Mon Mar 25, 2019 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jakeas2 (Post 1031597)
It's interesting to me in play #2 that the C actually calls the foul on Tacko and not the Lead. It's the right call but makes me think that the foul was not for being grounded in the restricted area.



He pointed at the restricted area.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

jakeas2 Mon Mar 25, 2019 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1031598)
He pointed at the restricted area.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Good call. I missed that in the video.

MechanicGuy Mon Mar 25, 2019 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmb (Post 1031591)
The lead clearly points at the basket as he is making his foul call, signaling he has the foul occurring on a shot attempt.

To your point, the video shows there is virtually no contact after the shot attempt ends.

Between the actual play and the lead’s mechanics while calling the foul, I’m unsure how this ended up as a 1-and-1 and not 2 shots.

I have to think it's just a brain fart at a terrible moment. They call the foul, head to the tv timeout, discuss the foul situation (that was #9 on Duke), come out and mistakenly line up for a 1-and-1. :(

chapmaja Mon Mar 25, 2019 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1031600)
I have to think it's just a brain fart at a terrible moment. They call the foul, head to the tv timeout, discuss the foul situation (that was #9 on Duke), come out and mistakenly line up for a 1-and-1. :(

I'm going to go a different angle on this. IIRC this seemed very quick that they were already lined up to shot the free throws when CBS came out of the media time out. Is it possible they actually did shoot both FT's and CBS didn't catch the first one on the broadcast?

Nevadaref Mon Mar 25, 2019 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 1031603)
I'm going to go a different angle on this. IIRC this seemed very quick that they were already lined up to shot the free throws when CBS came out of the media time out. Is it possible they actually did shoot both FT's and CBS didn't catch the first one on the broadcast?

Not according to the play-by-play posted on ESPN.com

8:05 Tre Jones Turnover. 59 - 64
8:05 B.J. Taylor Steal. 59 - 64
7:40 Aubrey Dawkins missed Three Point Jumper. 59 - 64
7:40 Chad Brown Offensive Rebound. 59 - 64
7:38 Foul on Zion Williamson. 59 - 64
7:38 Official TV Timeout 59 - 64
7:38 Chad Brown missed Free Throw. 59 - 64
7:38 Zion Williamson Defensive Rebound. 59 - 64
7:23 Zion Williamson made Jumper. Assisted by Jordan Goldwire. 59 - 66
6:59 Dayon Griffin missed Layup. 59 - 66


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1