The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Back Court violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104323-back-court-violation.html)

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 26, 2019 07:56am

Back Court violation?
 
Throwing by A1 undrer their basket in the front Court. Deep pass toward the division line. Pass is deflected by B2 then touched by A2 who jumped from front court. Ball then lands in the backcourt. Ball is then recovered by A2. Violation or play on?

Stillblind Sat Jan 26, 2019 09:46am

No BC
Team Control was not established in the FC

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:19am

Throwin ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029348)
Throwin by A1 under their basket in the frontcourt. Deep pass toward the division line. Pass is deflected by B2 then touched by A2 who jumped from front court. Ball then lands in the backcourt. Ball is then recovered by A2.

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:25am

Change Up ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029348)
Throwin by A1 under their basket in the front Court. Deep pass toward the division line. Pass is deflected by B2 then touched by A2 who jumped from front court. Ball then lands in the backcourt. Ball is then recovered by A2.

Now let's change it up a little.

Situation B: Throwin by A1 on the endline in Team A's frontcourt. Deep throwin pass toward the division line. Throwin pass is deflected by B2 in Team A's frontcourt and then A2, while jumping from Team A's frontcourt, secures control of the ball with both feet off the floor and returns to the floor with both feet in Team A's backcourt. You make the call.

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1029351)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Rules citation please. Specifically that team control has to be established in the front court inbounds. (ie the team control OOB does not count)

Raymond Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029354)
Rules citation please. Specifically that team control has to be established in the front court inbounds. (ie the team control OOB does not count)

Player control has to be established in bounds before you can have any type of backcourt violation.

Quote:

and initial player control when coming from a throwin
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1029355)
Player control has to be established in bounds before you can have any type of backcourt violation.



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Rules citation please. I am in an argument with like 5 different officials that think this is a backcourt. The rules as worded seems to back them.

Raymond Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029356)
Rules citation please. I am in an argument with like 5 different officials that think this is a backcourt. The rules as worded seems to back them.

9-9-3

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:55am

Next NFHS Rules Editor ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029354)
(the team control OOB does not count)

Nice. Better than what the NFHS offers us in the rulebook, and so simply put.

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1029357)
9-9-3

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

That is the provision that a backcourt would not count when caught in the air jumping from frontcourt to backcourt. In my situation, this provision ends when B touches the ball, and in Billy Macs play makes it a backcourt violation. This article does not strengthen my argument.

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:01am

Backcourt Rule ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1029357)
9-9-3

9-9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been
in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or
was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
ART. 2 While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player
shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to
backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that
he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt.
ART. 3 During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may
legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both
feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the
backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no
difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:02am

Article 1 ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029354)
Rules citation please. Specifically that team control has to be established in the front court inbounds. (ie the team control OOB does not count)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029356)
Rules citation please. I am in an argument with like 5 different officials that think this is a backcourt. The rules as worded seems to back them.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029359)
This article does not strengthen my argument.

Look at Article 1 in previous post.

Raymond Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029359)
That is the provision that a backcourt would not count when caught in the air jumping from frontcourt to backcourt. In my situation, this provision ends when B touches the ball, and in Billy Macs play makes it a backcourt violation. This article does not strengthen my argument.

4.12.2 Sit B

It's directly on point.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1029361)
Look at Article 1 in previous post.

They are arguing that a front court throwin is team control in the front court and that team control continues until one of the 3 criteria, (shot, deadball, turnover).

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1029362)
4.12.2 Sit B

It's directly on point.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

DING DING DING DING!!!! WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER! Tell him what he's won Johnny!!

Thanks Raymond. That's what I was looking for.

SC Official Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:08am

Everyone knows the rules as written are not clear. This has been discussed ad nauseam.

But the NFHS has made it crystal clear that team control during a throw-in (and the period between the end of the throw-in and a player gaining control) is ONLY for foul purposes. You CANNOT have a violation for backcourt, 3 seconds, 10 seconds, etc. until PLAYER CONTROL has been established inbounds, thus creating true team control.

This situation has also been an official interpretation multiple times.

Raymond Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029363)
They are arguing that a front court throwin is team control in the front court and that team control continues until one of the 3 criteria, (shot, deadball, turnover).

There is no front court or back court status when the ball is out of bounds for a throw-in. There is no front court or back court status until there is player control established inbounds.

That's why in high school basketball you cannot start a 10-second backcourt count when a throw-in pass is deflected into the backcourt until somebody gains player control.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:11am

The Throwin Ended ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1029352)
Situation B: Throwin by A1 on the endline in Team A's frontcourt. Deep throwin pass toward the division line. Throwin pass is deflected by B2 in Team A's frontcourt and then A2, while jumping from Team A's frontcourt, secures control of the ball with both feet off the floor and returns to the floor with both feet in Team A's backcourt. You make the call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029359)
Billy Macs play makes it a backcourt violation.

Situation B: Correct. Pick a prize from the top shelf.

4-42-5-A: The throw-in ends when: The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds.

9-9-3: During a throw-in a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:17am

True Team Control ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1029365)
true team control.

Nice. Too bad the NFHS doesn't add this to Rule 4 Definitions.

We all know that an ugly caterpillar will one day become a beautiful butterfly.

Maybe an ugly Point of Emphasis will one day become a beautiful rule?

Nevadaref Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:18am

The search feature is your friend
 
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...ion-throw.html

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1029369)

it would be if I didn't have to wait 30 seconds between searches.

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:49am

Do we have a video of the new BC exception play? (ie the catching of the ball by a player int he back court)

BigCat Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029363)
They are arguing that a front court throwin is team control in the front court and that team control continues until one of the 3 criteria, (shot, deadball, turnover).

Team control during throw in is for foul purposes only. Search the forum. We have been over this 8,000,000,000,000 times. It’s all been explained previously.

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:10pm

It's Possible ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1029373)
Team control during throw in is for foul purposes only. Search the forum. We have been over this 8,000,000,000,000 times. It’s all been explained previously.

Be careful, we could break the internet.

Too bad all basketball officials, and the NFHS rules editor, don't read the Forum.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 28, 2019 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 1029370)
it would be if I didn't have to wait 30 seconds between searches.

You don't....if you use google.

In the google search bar, add site:forum.officiating.com along with whatever other search terms you want and it will search this forum only. You don't have to wait.

bucky Mon Jan 28, 2019 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1029352)
Now let's change it up a little.

Situation B: Throwin by A1 on the endline in Team A's frontcourt. Deep throwin pass toward the division line. Throwin pass is deflected by B2 in Team A's frontcourt and then A2, while jumping from Team A's frontcourt, secures control of the ball with both feet off the floor and returns to the floor with both feet in Team A's backcourt. You make the call.

BC violation. 9.9.1.Sit D.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1