![]() |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Quote:
I could have ignored Billy's edited post but I thought it was a good time to prove a point that it is okay for people to ask questions, even if things seem straight forward. It should be encouraged. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Free, With No Advertising ...
Quote:
And if you're having trouble searching, just type in a question to one of our many expert online customer service representatives (most not located in India) to start an online chat, and you'll likely get a pretty reliable answer in a very short period of time. Isn't this internet age just amazing? It's so easy to find information. But be careful. Remember what our sixteenth president, Abraham Lincoln, said, "Don't believe everything you read on the internet". |
A Mark Goodson-Bill Todman Production ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
All the posters here whom I trust with rules knowledge (including myself) engage the OPs with questions to further the discussion in order to lead to a logical and researched conclusion. These discussions often cause us to do our own research and discover some nuances we may ourselves not been aware of initially. |
NCAAW Interp (correct because the NCAAW rule is different from FED's rule):
DATE: 1/2/2019 RULE: 4-8-2 QUESTION: Team A has control of the ball in the front court. B2 deflects the ball deep into the back court and A2 runs back and receives the ball back by the free throw line. Because team A was still in team control does the 10 second counts start when the ball crosses the division line or when A2 picks the ball up? ANSWER: No part of the backcourt count is predicated on the ball crossing the division line. When B2 deflected the ball into the backcourt, the ten-second count begins when any player touches the ball in Team A’s backcourt (Rule 9-10; A.R. 233 [1]). Here's the relevant rule: Section 10. 10-Second Backcourt The 10-second count shall begin when a player legally touches the ball in her team’s backcourt except on a rebound or jump ball. In such case, the 10-second count shall start on player control. Once the 10-second count begins, an inbounds player (and her team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that is in her backcourt for 10 consecutive seconds. The 10-second count shall be reset on all stoppages of the game clock except when the opponents cause the ball to be out of bounds, the team in control retains possession following a held ball, a technical foul is assessed to the team in control, or the team in control is granted a timeout. |
So, to clarify...
NFHS: Count begins when team control in the backcourt begins. Following a throw-in, that means the count begins once player control is established in the backcourt (true team control). When the ball is deflected by the defense into the backcourt but is still in the offense's control, the count begins as soon as the ball gains backcourt status. NCAA-M/W: Count begins when the ball is touched in the backcourt by the team in control. The count begins when the throw-in ends when touched in the backcourt. When there is no team control, the count begins when player control in the backcourt begins. Correct? |
Sometimes You Feel Like A Nut, Sometimes You Don't ...
Quote:
Sometimes one just wants a simple answer. Sometimes one gets it, sometimes one doesn't. One gets what one pays for. What are the annual dues to join the Forum? |
High School Versus College ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thanks guys! |
When to start 10 second count?
Well...………..72 responses later, thanks for clearing this up. I learned something.
|
Quote:
Peace |
As Long As You Learned Something ...
Quote:
9:09 Post 1 Jqb12 Question 10:23 Post 5 DrKildare Wrong Answer 10:26 Post 6 Nevadaref Answer Questioned 10:47 Post 9 BigCat Right Answer 11:09 Post 13 Nevadaref Answer Confirmed Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41pm. |