![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
Game last night. JV Girls.
Frustrated Team V coach wants a time out because her team is in another place. No signal for length. "Coach, you want a full?" "I don't care!" "Coach, you want a full." H ballhandler gets knocked down. Gets up slowly. 1-1 Bonus. "Do you want to shoot?" "Yes, but then I need a sub." "You know, if you mss it's a live ball?" "Yes, I know." (clank and home gets rebound) H coach, "Time out!" (for apparent sub, but no signal) "Coach, you want a 30." "Uh, yes, ...a 30." ...And that is the rule I disregarded last evening. But, I retained my presence. ![]() mick ... And which rules will you disregard tomorrow? |
|
|||
Ignored the rule on a "blarge" last week.
4th quarter, V up by 20+ on the road. 3-man crew. I'm the T on a drive from C that results in a crash at the block on C's side. Double whistle. C has a charge, L has a block. Rather than explain that both fouls needed to be assessed, followed by an alternating possession throw in, I let them try to sort it out. I was just too frustrated and tired to step in, as these guys for 3+ quarters had been making middle school calls in a game between pretty good varsity teams. Plus, the call would have no effect on the game's outcome. They decided it was a block, much to the surprise of coach V, who had seen the charge signal from C but not the block from L. She chuckled when her player went to the line. In hindsight, I should have stepped in, taught my partners the rule, and explained the situation to the coaches. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Jay R, ![]() mick |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]When you get into these situations, I don't think that you should really try to supply answers. The most that I would ever say to a coach would be something like "Coach,he had a good view of it. If you have a question, ask him later". Personally,I try to keep away from the benches when they want to discuss my partners. That way I don't have to hear something that I don't wanna hear. I don't care how bad the call was,if the coach insults my partner,demeans him in any way ,or goes over my personal line in any way, then I'm gonna nail him. I think that the best thing you can do when you're stuck in a situation like this is just stay stone-faced and never do anything that would suggest that you might agree with a coach that your partners are screwing up.There's nothing the matter with admitting that you might have blown a call, but the guy that blew the call should be the only official on the floor doing that admitting. JMO. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Agreeing....
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE] ...long stemmed, or not. [/B][/QUOTE]Uh oh,Chuck. Mick just made one of those "short" jokes. Next time you see him, bite his ankle! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|