View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 12, 2003, 07:13pm
stan-MI stan-MI is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 139
Ignored the rule on a "blarge" last week.

4th quarter, V up by 20+ on the road. 3-man crew. I'm the T on a drive from C that results in a crash at the block on C's side. Double whistle. C has a charge, L has a block.

Rather than explain that both fouls needed to be assessed, followed by an alternating possession throw in, I let them try to sort it out. I was just too frustrated and tired to step in, as these guys for 3+ quarters had been making middle school calls in a game between pretty good varsity teams. Plus, the call would have no effect on the game's outcome.

They decided it was a block, much to the surprise of coach V, who had seen the charge signal from C but not the block from L. She chuckled when her player went to the line.

In hindsight, I should have stepped in, taught my partners the rule, and explained the situation to the coaches.

Reply With Quote