The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pre-tip off technical foul and non-starter shoots the free throw (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104096-pre-tip-off-technical-foul-non-starter-shoots-free-throw.html)

rfp Tue Oct 23, 2018 09:51am

Pre-tip off technical foul and non-starter shoots the free throw
 
If there is a pre-game technical foul, such as an administrative T or for dunking during warm-ups, the shooting team has the option for a substitute, A-6, to shoot the foul shots. Does this mean, as in 3-2-2a, that A-6 has been allowed to become a starter and that he/she must start the game? Or can A-6 shoot the fouls shots and return to the bench, allowing the regular starters to start the game?

SC Official Tue Oct 23, 2018 09:55am

Substitutes who become players are never required to "play a tick."

BillyMac Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:05am

Confucius Says ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 1025426)
If there is a pre-game technical foul, such as an administrative T or for dunking during warm-ups, the shooting team has the option for a substitute, A-6, to shoot the foul shots. Does this mean, as in 3-2-2a, that A-6 has been allowed to become a starter and that he/she must start the game? Or can A-6 shoot the fouls shots and return to the bench, allowing the regular starters to start the game?

Must sit a tick, don’t have to play a tick.

In my opinion, the substituted starter (let's call him A-5) has to sit a tick. A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game, shall not reenter (with rare exception) before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his, or her, replacement. The clock didn't start on the free throw for the technical foul.

Since a player doesn't have to play a tick, A-7 can come off the bench to replace A-6, if the coach desires. "Allowing the regular starters to start the game" no longer applies because the game had already started when the ball became live for the free throw for the technical foul.

Note: The "with rare exception" above applies to situations where a team, due to disqualification, or injury, would be forced to play with fewer than five players.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1025428)
Must sit a tick, don’t have to play a tick.

In my opinion, the substituted starter (let's call him A-5) has to sit a tick. A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game, shall not reenter (with rare exception) before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his, or her, replacement. The clock didn't start on the free throw for the technical foul.

I disagree. A5 hasn't been substituted for...the game hasn't started yet. The situation that we're discussing is the changing of a designated starter. Team A may change everyone 100 times before the 10-minute mark or even after at the cost of a T. None of those count. Until the game actually starts, the changes are not substitutions.

Once the FTs have been taken, there is a substitution opportunity and and A5 may come into the game.

SC Official Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1025429)
I disagree. A5 hasn't been substituted for...the game hasn't started yet. The situation that we're discussing is the changing of a designated starter. Team A may change everyone 100 times before the 10-minute mark or even after at the cost of a T. None of those count. Until the game actually starts, the changes are not substitutions.

Once the FTs have been taken, there is a substitution opportunity and and A5 may come into the game.

The game doesn’t start with the free throws when there is a pregame technical foul?

BillyMac Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:27am

Let's Get Ready To Rumble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1025430)
The game doesn’t start with the free throws when there is a pregame technical foul?

Since the game hasn't started I guess that any points scored from the technical foul free throws don't count. Just like any points scored during the warmup layup lines don't count.

Seriously, the game started when the ball became live, when it's at the disposal of the free thrower for the first free throw for the technical foul.

Designated starter A-5 has to sit a tick.

Also, while I wouldn't grant a request for timeout before the ball became live when the tossed ball leaves the official’s hand during a "normal" jump ball "start" (game, or overtime), I would grant a request for a timeout in rfp's situation after the ball became live when it's at the disposal of the free thrower for the free throws for the technical foul (depending on who requests it, and when it's requested).

Camron Rust Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1025430)
The game doesn’t start with the free throws when there is a pregame technical foul?

Yes, it does. How does that relate to my response?

At the time A5 is changed to A6, the game hasn't started yet. Then, the FTs happen. That starts the game, not the replacement of the designated starter. A5 can be substituted into the game after the FTs since A5 is not reentering...A5 was never in.

BillyMac Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:31am

First Live Ball ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1025429)
... the game hasn't started yet ... Until the game actually starts ...

Why hasn't the game "started", and if it hasn't "started", when does it actually "start".

6-2-1: The game and each extra period begins when the ball becomes live as specified in 6-1-2 for a jump ball, throw-in or free throw.

3-3-4: A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement.

Once the game starts, the designated starter rule longer applies.

BillyMac Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:40am

Replaced ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1025432)
... A5 is not reentering...A5 was never in.

Great point, but he was legally replaced as a designated starter.

BillyMac Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:05pm

First Free Throw ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1025429)
Once the FTs have been taken, there is a substitution opportunity ...

Isn't there a substitution opportunity after the first free throw has been taken?

After A-6 takes his first free throw attempt, can't A-8 replace A-6 and attempt the second free throw? And then, can't A-9 replace A-8 before the throwin?

BillyMac Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:51pm

Legal Substitution/Replacement ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1025429)
Team A may change everyone 100 times before the 10-minute mark or even after at the cost of a T. None of those count. Until the game actually starts, the changes are not substitutions.

Another good point by Camron Rust. But this is a third situation. It's not before the ten minute mark, it's after. It's not at the expense of a technical foul, it's a legal substitution/replacement after the ten minute mark.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 23, 2018 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1025442)
Another good point by Camron Rust. But this is a third situation. It's not before the ten minute mark, it's after. It's not at the expense of a technical foul, it's a legal substitution/replacement after the ten minute mark.

It is after the 10 minute mark and the changing of a designated starter. Only the T is excepted. Otherwise, it is just like any other change of a designated starter.

If A6 had been the designated starter up to 12:37 on the pregame clock and it was changed to A5 at that time, would not you allow A6 to enter the game to shoot the FTs for the T?

Raymond Tue Oct 23, 2018 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1025433)
Why hasn't the game "started", and if it hasn't "started", when does it actually "start".

6-2-1: The game and each extra period begins when the ball becomes live as specified in 6-1-2 for a jump ball, throw-in or free throw.

3-3-4: A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement.

Once the game starts, the designated starter rule longer applies.

Wow, you guys are totaling missing Camron's point. There is no substitution prior to the free throw b/c the game has not started yet. It starts when A6 gets the ball at her/his disposal for the free throw. Was A1 substituted for after the ball was put at A6's disposal?

BillyMac Tue Oct 23, 2018 01:31pm

Ten Minute Mark ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1025445)
If A6 had been the designated starter up to 12:37 on the pregame clock and it was changed to A5 at that time, would not you allow A6 to enter the game to shoot the FTs for the T?

Another great point from Camron Rust. I would allow A6 to enter.

In the original situation, A6 replaced A5, I assume after the ten minute mark, or we wouldn't be discussing this. Let's keep our discussion exclusively after the ten minute mark.

A6 replaced A5. A5 by must sit a tick.

That's my wavering story and I'm only sticking to it long enough for somebody to push me over the "sit a tick" cliff.

BillyMac Tue Oct 23, 2018 01:34pm

Moving Toward The White Light ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1025447)
Wow, you guys are totaling missing Camron's point.

I wasn't seeing it at the beginning, but I'm now starting to see the light, but I'm not yet 100% convinced.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1025457)
That's my wavering story and I'm only sticking to it long enough for somebody to push me over the "sit a tick" cliff.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1