![]() |
Always Apologize To bob ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Are you trying to confuse our more inexperienced officials by having them focus on NBA rules instead of what makes this illegal at the NFHS level? |
Number Of Steps, No Way ...
Quote:
I am not the first Forum member to mention rules sets other than NFHS, nor will I be the last. I'm sure that some inexperienced officials watch NBA games, with announcers accurately, or inaccurately, describing NBA rules. But to be on the safe side, for inexperienced officials (especially now when many associations hold their new officials training sessions), here's a short version of NFHS traveling rules: The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass, or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up, or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or request a timeout. If the player is flat on his, or her, back, that player may sit up without violating. A player must be holding the ball (with one very rare exception) in order to travel. A player can't travel while dribbling, while tapping the ball, while fumbling it, or while trying to recover a loose ball. During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped, or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes, and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be an illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble Inexperienced officials please note that there is not a single reference in the NFHS travel rule to the number of steps taken. Not one and a half. Not two. Don't count. Identify the pivot foot. Keep your eye on the pivot foot and understand the legal limitations of moving the pivot foot. The NCAA may be the same (I'm not an NCAA official). FIBA may, or may not, be the same (probably not the same, I saw some odd called, and uncalled, travels when my daughter played in Spain). The NBA is different. Quote:
With the exception of fully explaining the NBA travel rule, I have now fulfilled one of my goals from this thread, noting the differences between the two rule sets. |
Quote:
You always mention that you don't work NCAA. Hopefully folks who work NCAA know the rule in regards to lifting and replacing the pivot foot (it the same as the NFHS rule). Maybe that's why folks aren't discussing this play here in the forum, because it is an obvious travel for the rule sets all the forum members work (save maybe the FIBA officials). Inquiring minds don't want to know why it's not a travel in the NBA, YOU want to know. And instead of just simply asking (or looking it up on the internet), you throw all this other stuff at us. Give folks credit in that they will ask on their own if they need/want to know something about a rule outside of their normal rule set. |
Dollars To Donuts ...
Quote:
Well, maybe not a fairly large amount of money. I just retired from my day job as a chemist and I'm on a "fixed income" now. I'll bet a buck. Baby needs a new pair of shoes. |
Quote:
In the NCAA - Travel In NFHS - Travel In FiBA - Not a travel |
At the moment he ends his dribble (catches the ball on the move) the next foot (or feet if both are on the ground) counts a a "zero" step. Next step is the pivot foot, next step is the 2nd of your "2 steps".
NBA and FIBA both have adaptations of this rule because it: A) Increases opportunity for dynamic plays B) Decreases the stress and risk for injury associated with quicker/harder stops for high level athletes moving and very high rates. |
Zero Step ...
Quote:
Also explains the odd travel no calls that I observed when my daughter played in a youth tournament in Spain. |
Officials know it is illegal for NFHS/NCAA/FIBA/"X" organization because they have seen/read the rule. If you want to know why it is legal in the NBA, just go read the rule. The NBA rules are online in many places.
Many people talk about the "possible" travel portion of the play. Many think it should be traveling but not one person, not even on this forum, mentioned the "possible" palming/carrying violations. I counted 2 of them. On the forum some say it would be traveling but no one said it would be palming/carrying, or even "traveling" to some, while he was dribbling. |
It Was A Dark And Stormy Night ...
Quote:
|
Classic BM, just classic.
|
[QUOTE=Pantherdreams;1025262]At the moment he ends his dribble (catches the ball on the move) the next foot (or feet if both are on the ground) counts a a "zero" step. Next step is the pivot foot, next step is the 2nd of your "2 steps".
NBA and FIBA both have adaptations of this rule because it: A) Increases opportunity for dynamic plays B) Decreases the stress and risk for injury associated with quicker/harder stops for high level athletes moving and very high rOTE] FWIW, my 2 resident NBA rules practitioners quickly referenced the "zero" step and would not have a whistle for travelling on this play. They confirmed the foot movements involved in this play warrant a whistle in HS game. |
I think the NBA rule is worded differently, but with same result. Might be wrong, but if so, someone explain specifically what it allows that NCAA rules don't?
The NBA description of this rule is consistent with what I see, it isn't a travel in lower levels either if you give benefit of the doubt on when the gather happens here. he's taking the ball from his left hand to his right as he's in the air, and gathers while in the air, then lands once with each foot. And that's the NBA's interpretation. How would that be a travel at lower levels? Remember, the gather should be, and is in practical terms in NCAA, a loose interpretation whether it is a spin move, layup, Euro step, or this move. They want the gather at higher levels to be judged loosely. |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51pm. |