The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 7
Frontcourt, backcourt, or what

Is the following statement true or false (I am told it is false): If A1 jumps from the front court and lands in the backcourt with an inbounds pass, A1 is considered to be located in the front court while airborne."
If it is false please let me know the rule reference. I do understand A1 has not violated by landing in the backcourt with the inbounds pass. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 12:47am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,008
Yes, they are in the FC because that was the last place that touched the floor as an airborne player.

Rule 4-35-3 says:
Quote:
The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player last was in contact with the floor or the extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.
Rule 4-35-1 says:
Quote:
Art. 1....The location of the player or nonplayer is determined by where the person is touching the floor as far as being:

a. inbounds or out-of-bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.
4-35-1b clearly makes it clear what location a player is in. It does not matter for violations purposes as this is an exception to the backcourt rule on throw-ins, jump balls or a player on defense.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Wed Sep 19, 2018 at 01:11am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 05:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Martin View Post
Is the following statement true or false (I am told it is false): If A1 jumps from the front court and lands in the backcourt with an inbounds pass, A1 is considered to be located in the front court while airborne."
If it is false please let me know the rule reference. I do understand A1 has not violated by landing in the backcourt with the inbounds pass. Thanks.
The statement is true. Some people incorrectly teach it as false because they believe that it helps officials with backcourt decisions.
I believe that it is better to teach both ball location and player location correctly and then impress upon people what the exceptions are to the backcourt rule. In short, it is best to have them recognize that such a play would indeed be a backcourt violation if not for the throw-in exception. That way the official has a proper understanding of all of these rules and when to apply the exceptions.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,614
I think NCAA might have this as a FALSE statement -- I seem to recall it on an NCAAW test, based on this rule:

Art. 2. When a player is in the air from a leap (except during a throw-in)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frontcourt/backcourt? Jay R Basketball 16 Mon Nov 08, 2010 05:04pm
frontcourt-backcourt zac Basketball 2 Thu Nov 27, 2003 12:36pm
frontcourt/backcourt chasbo Basketball 14 Thu Oct 30, 2003 08:56am
Frontcourt/Backcourt RookieDude Basketball 1 Fri Jan 31, 2003 08:11am
Frontcourt or backcourt PP Basketball 9 Mon Oct 29, 2001 11:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1