![]() |
|
|
|||
NFHS interpretation
I know NFHS is different than NBA, but I want to know what people would call if this was a high school game. Based on NFHS rules, I believe he had two feet down and was in LGP before the offensive player left his feet. My only question is did the offensive player move to avoid the contact and the defender slide in after establishing LGP?
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I have a charge. he was there in plenty of time, and the trailing foot moved a bit, and if anything it was moving away from where the offensive contact was coming from.
more importantly, under the rules, they don't go to the monitor under there is reasonable doubt as to whether the defender was outside the arc. There was absolutely no question about that from the lead's perspective. he was a foot and a half or more outside it. hence no monitor. and that is clearly the lead's call. if they want to go with a blarge, i suppose it then would have been a jump ball between KD and Lebron? if a defender gets there, is about to get steamrolled, and drifts a few inches AWAY from the side the contact is coming from , that's a charge. |
|
|||
I thought it was clearly a block. James is moving forward and to the left at the time of contact. Just my opinion.
As for going to replay. Part of me thinks that when the 3 came together, they had a blarge, and knowing that the restricted arc can be reviewed, and also knowing that once they look at the arc, they can then look at the legal guarding position, they decided to review it to get it right. Had there not been a blarge, they may not have reviewed it at all. "What you can't have is a referee who is bull-headed when all of that is taking place, and we find out later that there was a rule in place to help us get the play correct, but we ended up missing it because we were not applying the rule," McCutchen said. Last edited by OKREF; Fri Jun 01, 2018 at 09:47am. |
|
|||
This to me was a charge all the way. The lead had the best look and called it accordingly. Also the left foot of LBJ was planted before Durant started his motion. I do not see how this was not a charge as called on the floor.
Sorry I think this is also not the way to handle the situation under the rules. You make a call and then go and look at a replay to now debating a close call. It is one thing to do this on an out of bounds play, but not a play like this IMO. It just opens up too many cans of worms and assumptions. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I believe that OKREF has it correct.
A player does not need to be stationary to draw a charge. They can be moving in any direction, except one, which is towards the offensive player. In this case, Lebron starts at the elbow of the RA, as he slides to his left he also moves forward. He ends up in front of the RA by a good foot or two. The step with his left foot before he plants and takes the hit actually has his heel on the line. This indicates that he was moving towards the shooter therefor he does not have legal guarding position. |
|
|||
By NFHS/NCAA rules, Lebron had LGP. If it were in my game, this would be a charge. And it would be the L's call too. Trail shouldn't be on that unless the L doesn't.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bulls/Cavs Last Second No Call (Video 2/2) | NNJOfficial | Basketball | 33 | Wed May 13, 2015 07:46pm |
NBA's 8-second rule? (Warriors/Celtics) (Video) | MechanicGuy | Basketball | 8 | Tue Mar 03, 2015 03:39am |
Pistons/Cavs - Block/Charge | MagMan68Classic | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 11, 2013 05:06pm |
interesting plays- warriors vs. jazz | mutantducky | Basketball | 19 | Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:11pm |
NBA two man.....CAVS game | afrothunda | Basketball | 15 | Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:07pm |