![]() |
|
|
|||
Under NBA rules inside 2 mins the refs can trigger replay if there is doubt about the play, specifically regarding the Restricted Area. In replay the refs can determine 1) wether the feet were inside/outside the RA, 2) whether the defender had LGP, and 3) if any other uncalled illegal acts took place (leading elbow PC foul for example). This allows them to essentially re-referee the play on video.
The Trail official did make a half-assed blocking signal, but a blarge does not trigger a review in and of itself. They must go to review the RA. |
|
|||
In the last two minutes of the 4th quarter and OT, replay opens up to allow reviewing disputed calls, such as unclear out-of-bounds plays, and block-charge plays under dispute. In that case, the decision was legitimate under NBA rules.
|
|
|||
NFHS interpretation
I know NFHS is different than NBA, but I want to know what people would call if this was a high school game. Based on NFHS rules, I believe he had two feet down and was in LGP before the offensive player left his feet. My only question is did the offensive player move to avoid the contact and the defender slide in after establishing LGP?
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I have a charge. he was there in plenty of time, and the trailing foot moved a bit, and if anything it was moving away from where the offensive contact was coming from.
more importantly, under the rules, they don't go to the monitor under there is reasonable doubt as to whether the defender was outside the arc. There was absolutely no question about that from the lead's perspective. he was a foot and a half or more outside it. hence no monitor. and that is clearly the lead's call. if they want to go with a blarge, i suppose it then would have been a jump ball between KD and Lebron? if a defender gets there, is about to get steamrolled, and drifts a few inches AWAY from the side the contact is coming from , that's a charge. |
|
|||
I thought it was clearly a block. James is moving forward and to the left at the time of contact. Just my opinion.
As for going to replay. Part of me thinks that when the 3 came together, they had a blarge, and knowing that the restricted arc can be reviewed, and also knowing that once they look at the arc, they can then look at the legal guarding position, they decided to review it to get it right. Had there not been a blarge, they may not have reviewed it at all. "What you can't have is a referee who is bull-headed when all of that is taking place, and we find out later that there was a rule in place to help us get the play correct, but we ended up missing it because we were not applying the rule," McCutchen said. Last edited by OKREF; Fri Jun 01, 2018 at 09:47am. |
|
|||
This to me was a charge all the way. The lead had the best look and called it accordingly. Also the left foot of LBJ was planted before Durant started his motion. I do not see how this was not a charge as called on the floor.
Sorry I think this is also not the way to handle the situation under the rules. You make a call and then go and look at a replay to now debating a close call. It is one thing to do this on an out of bounds play, but not a play like this IMO. It just opens up too many cans of worms and assumptions. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bulls/Cavs Last Second No Call (Video 2/2) | NNJOfficial | Basketball | 33 | Wed May 13, 2015 07:46pm |
NBA's 8-second rule? (Warriors/Celtics) (Video) | MechanicGuy | Basketball | 8 | Tue Mar 03, 2015 03:39am |
Pistons/Cavs - Block/Charge | MagMan68Classic | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 11, 2013 05:06pm |
interesting plays- warriors vs. jazz | mutantducky | Basketball | 19 | Tue Jan 06, 2009 04:11pm |
NBA two man.....CAVS game | afrothunda | Basketball | 15 | Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:07pm |