The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Vid Request - Fri 3/16 - Purdue vs CS Fullerton (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103676-ncaa-vid-request-fri-3-16-purdue-vs-cs-fullerton.html)

bucky Fri Mar 16, 2018 01:35pm

NCAA Vid Request - Fri 3/16 - Purdue vs CS Fullerton
 
With about 7:01 in second half. Purdue big man called for foul in ARC. Proper application of rule?

Big man did not appear to be secondary defender and appeared vertical enough to me anyway.

Raymond Fri Mar 16, 2018 01:50pm

If he was a secondary defender, then he has to attempt to play defense in the arc, he cannot stay grounded (I have not seen the play).

AremRed Fri Mar 16, 2018 02:03pm

Looked like a good call from my seat 5 rows back.

bucky Fri Mar 16, 2018 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1019031)
If he was a secondary defender, then he has to attempt to play defense in the arc, he cannot stay grounded (I have not seen the play).

I understand that but he was primary defender. Ergo, my post.

JRutledge Fri Mar 23, 2018 05:13pm

Video added
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/T9o34bKO99M" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

AremRed Fri Mar 23, 2018 05:47pm

Wrong thread JRut

JRutledge Sat Mar 24, 2018 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1019634)
Wrong thread JRut

Corrected the video.

Peace

Raymond Sun Mar 25, 2018 07:24am

Most definitely a secondary Defender. And he stay grounded in the restricted area.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bucky Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:03pm

I do not agree that it was a secondary defender however that is irrelevant as this play is a perfect example (IMO) of the RA exception whereby the player stopped his continuous motion by gathering the ball and coming to a jump stop. This was not a block/charge play.

(unless other documentation regarding exception has been added for this season)

Raymond Sun Mar 25, 2018 01:30pm

Jump stops negate secondary defender requirements?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bucky Sun Mar 25, 2018 02:51pm

Based on my interpretation of the exception, yes, in this play.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 25, 2018 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1019743)
Jump stops negate secondary defender requirements?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

While I don't think there is such a thing, at some point a defender will stop being a secondary defender and become primary defender. In this case, the offensive player was heading directly at this defender for several steps. It wasn't like the defender was sliding in at the last moment to draw a charge.

In this case, you could easily argue that he established LGP about 1' outside the RA when the defender started coming at him and he only moved laterally to maintain it, moving into the RA having already obtained LGP.

Raymond Sun Mar 25, 2018 06:20pm

IMO, he first establishes LGP when he places his left heel on the arc.

But there is a point if the offensive player stops his penetration that secondary status no longer applies. This however wasn't one of those situations, IMO.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

sdoebler Sun Mar 25, 2018 09:44pm

This is not a play where the offense ends his forward momentum the change from a secondary defender.

For RA can you establish LGP outside of the RA and then move into the RA and have legal defensive contact occur (In regards to block/charge)? (Obviously you can have legal defensive contact but I think that the question is clear)

Camron Rust Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1019796)

For RA can you establish LGP outside of the RA and then move into the RA and have legal defensive contact occur (In regards to block/charge)?

Yes. You don't lose LGP by entering the RA. You just can't establish it initially within the RA.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1