The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Vid Request - Fri 3/16 - Purdue vs CS Fullerton (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103676-ncaa-vid-request-fri-3-16-purdue-vs-cs-fullerton.html)

bucky Fri Mar 16, 2018 01:35pm

NCAA Vid Request - Fri 3/16 - Purdue vs CS Fullerton
 
With about 7:01 in second half. Purdue big man called for foul in ARC. Proper application of rule?

Big man did not appear to be secondary defender and appeared vertical enough to me anyway.

Raymond Fri Mar 16, 2018 01:50pm

If he was a secondary defender, then he has to attempt to play defense in the arc, he cannot stay grounded (I have not seen the play).

AremRed Fri Mar 16, 2018 02:03pm

Looked like a good call from my seat 5 rows back.

bucky Fri Mar 16, 2018 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1019031)
If he was a secondary defender, then he has to attempt to play defense in the arc, he cannot stay grounded (I have not seen the play).

I understand that but he was primary defender. Ergo, my post.

JRutledge Fri Mar 23, 2018 05:13pm

Video added
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/T9o34bKO99M" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

AremRed Fri Mar 23, 2018 05:47pm

Wrong thread JRut

JRutledge Sat Mar 24, 2018 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1019634)
Wrong thread JRut

Corrected the video.

Peace

Raymond Sun Mar 25, 2018 07:24am

Most definitely a secondary Defender. And he stay grounded in the restricted area.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bucky Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:03pm

I do not agree that it was a secondary defender however that is irrelevant as this play is a perfect example (IMO) of the RA exception whereby the player stopped his continuous motion by gathering the ball and coming to a jump stop. This was not a block/charge play.

(unless other documentation regarding exception has been added for this season)

Raymond Sun Mar 25, 2018 01:30pm

Jump stops negate secondary defender requirements?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bucky Sun Mar 25, 2018 02:51pm

Based on my interpretation of the exception, yes, in this play.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 25, 2018 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1019743)
Jump stops negate secondary defender requirements?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

While I don't think there is such a thing, at some point a defender will stop being a secondary defender and become primary defender. In this case, the offensive player was heading directly at this defender for several steps. It wasn't like the defender was sliding in at the last moment to draw a charge.

In this case, you could easily argue that he established LGP about 1' outside the RA when the defender started coming at him and he only moved laterally to maintain it, moving into the RA having already obtained LGP.

Raymond Sun Mar 25, 2018 06:20pm

IMO, he first establishes LGP when he places his left heel on the arc.

But there is a point if the offensive player stops his penetration that secondary status no longer applies. This however wasn't one of those situations, IMO.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

sdoebler Sun Mar 25, 2018 09:44pm

This is not a play where the offense ends his forward momentum the change from a secondary defender.

For RA can you establish LGP outside of the RA and then move into the RA and have legal defensive contact occur (In regards to block/charge)? (Obviously you can have legal defensive contact but I think that the question is clear)

Camron Rust Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1019796)

For RA can you establish LGP outside of the RA and then move into the RA and have legal defensive contact occur (In regards to block/charge)?

Yes. You don't lose LGP by entering the RA. You just can't establish it initially within the RA.

sdoebler Mon Mar 26, 2018 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1019800)
Yes. You don't lose LGP by entering the RA. You just can't establish it initially within the RA.

Makes sense, I guess it just is not specifically stated from what I could find.

Art. 7. A secondary defender cannot establish initial legal guarding position in the restricted area for the purposes of drawing an offensive foul on a player who is in control of the ball (i.e., dribbling or shooting) or who has released the ball for a pass or try for goal. When illegal contact occurs within this restricted area, such contact shall be called a blocking foul, unless the contact is flagrant. (Exception: When the offensive player leads with a foot or unnatural extended knee or wards off with the arm.) This restriction shall not prohibit a defender, located within the restricted area, from attempting to block a shot by:
1) establishing legal guarding position,
2) jumping in the air while maintaining legal verticality position, and
3) attempting to block the shot.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 26, 2018 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1019809)
Makes sense, I guess it just is not specifically stated from what I could find.

Art. 7. A secondary defender cannot establish initial legal guarding position in the restricted area for the purposes of drawing an offensive foul on a player who is in control of the ball (i.e., dribbling or shooting) or who has released the ball for a pass or try for goal. When illegal contact occurs within this restricted area, such contact shall be called a blocking foul, unless the contact is flagrant. (Exception: When the offensive player leads with a foot or unnatural extended knee or wards off with the arm.) This restriction shall not prohibit a defender, located within the restricted area, from attempting to block a shot by:
1) establishing legal guarding position,
2) jumping in the air while maintaining legal verticality position, and
3) attempting to block the shot.

It's there.

sdoebler Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:29am

While I agree that from reading the entire rule that is how it should be enforced. I don't think the sentence saying that you can not establish initial legal guarding position within the RA to draw a charge is the same as saying, You can establish legal guarding position outside of the RA and then move into the RA for the purpose of drawing a charge.

Raymond Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1019813)
While I agree that from reading the entire rule that is how it should be enforced. I don't think the sentence saying that you can not establish initial legal guarding position within the RA to draw a charge is the same as saying, You can establish legal guarding position outside of the RA and then move into the RA for the purpose of drawing a charge.

Yes it does, because the RA rule concerns an INITIAL legal guarding position. If you back into the RA after establishing an initial LGP, you are now MAINTAINING a legal guarding position. It's also been brought up on training videos over the years.

I try to make sure it gets discussed in all my college pre-games.

bucky Tue Mar 27, 2018 09:29am

I am compelled to take this one to the grave.

1) I do not feel he was the secondary defender, rather the primary defender. Also, I feel that he did not meet the definition of a secondary defender as he did not establish LGP for the purpose of drawing a charge.
2) If he was considered to be a secondary defender, then he established LGP outside of the RA.
3) If he did not establish LGP outside of the RA, it could be argued that both feet were off the floor at the time of contact.
4) If he did not establish LGP outside of the RA and at least one foot was on the floor at the time of contact, I feel he met the requirements for the RA exception (which involves the player with the ball stopping his continuous movement(picked up his dribble and came to a jump stop) and initiating illegal contact.)

For those that have responded, I appear to be in the minority and I understand that. Just had to get this off my bird-like chest;) I do not need any more on it. I was very disappointed in the call. The rule was made for specific reasons/plays and this was not one of them. Had the player continued his motion off one foot, that would have been much more understandable.

Raymond Tue Mar 27, 2018 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1019899)
I am compelled to take this one to the grave.

1) I do not feel he was the secondary defender, rather the primary defender. Also, I feel that he did not meet the definition of a secondary defender as he did not establish LGP for the purpose of drawing a charge.
2) If he was considered to be a secondary defender, then he established LGP outside of the RA.
3) If he did not establish LGP outside of the RA, it could be argued that both feet were off the floor at the time of contact.
4) If he did not establish LGP outside of the RA and at least one foot was on the floor at the time of contact, I feel he met the requirements for the RA exception (which involves the player with the ball stopping his continuous movement(picked up his dribble and came to a jump stop) and initiating illegal contact.)

For those that have responded, I appear to be in the minority and I understand that. Just had to get this off my bird-like chest;) I do not need any more on it. I was very disappointed in the call. The rule was made for specific reasons/plays and this was not one of them. Had the player continued his motion off one foot, that would have been much more understandable.

If you can find the rules reference that says a jump stop is equivalent to no longer making a move to the basket, I would love to see it.

Otherwise, the defender established initial LGP with his left heel on the RA arc, he stayed within the RA, and he stayed grounded.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1