The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
Sorry is there an exception?
4.44.5B


Quote:
Did learn something new in article 2 though:

3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
Who woulda thunk?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
4.44.5B
Alright I had to read that a few times to visualize especially after ART. 5 started with A player holding the ball:
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
Alright I had to read that a few times to visualize especially after ART. 5 started with A player holding the ball:
You know my reference was a case play (dots, not dashes), right?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
You know my reference was a case play (dots, not dashes), right?
Ah, I don't have my case play book at work.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 11:44am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or request a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 07:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Fishing Expedition ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or request a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)
Shouldn't you have let sdoebler find it himself?

Give a man a fish and he has food for a day. Teach a man to fish and he has to buy bamboo rods, graphite reels, monofilament lines, neoprene waders, creels, tackleboxes, lures, flies, spinners, worm rigs, slip sinkers, offset hooks, gore-tex hats, 20 pocket vests, fish finders, depth sounders, radar, boats, trailers, global positioning systems, coolers, and six-packs.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2018, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or request a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)
Can anyone explain the logic to this interpretation? I was aware of it but hadn't given it much thought as it is pretty uncommon. But now that I'm thinking about it, I don't think it really make sense based on the rule, given that the player is allowed to dribble. You can have virtually the same action, but if there is any slight bounce to the ball, then standing and picking the ball up simply ends the dribble. But if the ball is absolutely still, then the same act is a travel. Seems (at best) an unnecessary interpretation to add, given that the defense could just grab the ball if it was placed on the ground -- but maybe i'm missing something.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2018, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Can anyone explain the logic to this interpretation? I was aware of it but hadn't given it much thought as it is pretty uncommon. But now that I'm thinking about it, I don't think it really make sense based on the rule, given that the player is allowed to dribble. You can have virtually the same action, but if there is any slight bounce to the ball, then standing and picking the ball up simply ends the dribble. But if the ball is absolutely still, then the same act is a travel. Seems (at best) an unnecessary interpretation to add, given that the defense could just grab the ball if it was placed on the ground -- but maybe i'm missing something.
It is viewed as an attempt to circumvent the rule. Without going through the efforts of changing various rules to cover this case, perhaps making them unnecessarily complicated, they decided a simple case to handle an oddball situation was enough.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Technically speaking 4-44-3b can also lead to an exception to the concept that player must be holding the ball in order to travel.

b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

Scenario: Player jumps to shoot, realizing his shot will be blocked simply drops the ball. He then lands.

His feet have returned to the floor before the ball has been released on a pass or try for goal. This attempt to circumvent the rules is a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jas4yf View Post
Technically speaking 4-44-3b can also lead to an exception to the concept that player must be holding the ball in order to travel.

b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

Scenario: Player jumps to shoot, realizing his shot will be blocked simply drops the ball. He then lands.

His feet have returned to the floor before the ball has been released on a pass or try for goal. This attempt to circumvent the rules is a travel.
Not really.

The foot movement that makes it a travel occurred when the player was holding the ball.....the jump. The player lifted the pivot foot while holding the ball and then started a dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Not really.

The foot movement that makes it a travel occurred when the player was holding the ball.....the jump. The player lifted the pivot foot while holding the ball and then started a dribble.
I mean sure, but by that logic 4-44-5b (the exception noted earlier) is only a travel because the player had been holding the ball first.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jas4yf View Post
I mean sure, but by that logic 4-44-5b (the exception noted earlier) is only a travel because the player had been holding the ball first.
The difference is that every other case involves some foot movement while holding the ball. The stand-up case doesn't.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The difference is that every other case involves some foot movement while holding the ball. The stand-up case doesn't.
OK I can buy that ... you've convinced me!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by jas4yf View Post
Technically speaking 4-44-3b can also lead to an exception to the concept that player must be holding the ball in order to travel.

b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

Scenario: Player jumps to shoot, realizing his shot will be blocked simply drops the ball. He then lands.

His feet have returned to the floor before the ball has been released on a pass or try for goal. This attempt to circumvent the rules is a travel.
Provided the player is the first to touch the ball after the ball bounces.
4.44.3 Situation A (d)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2018, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Provided the player is the first to touch the ball after the ball bounces.
4.44.3 Situation A (d)
I don't have my case book in front of me but a quick google returned this. Is this the case play you're referring to?

4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1’s hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces . RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

If so, in all of these the situation is a defender contacting the ball. The situation I described was a player dropping the ball on his own.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jim Tressel and Youngstown State University Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. General / Off-Topic 1 Thu May 15, 2014 08:41am
Oakland vs Youngstown State (video and article) grunewar Basketball 27 Thu Mar 06, 2014 04:04pm
Red Sox v Oakland 7/27 Rcichon Baseball 16 Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:46am
ChiSox v. Oakland tmp44 Baseball 10 Fri Apr 29, 2005 08:35pm
Top of the Sixth: Oakland vs. Boston Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Baseball 10 Mon Oct 06, 2003 02:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1