The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ace
Last night following my on-floor evaluation I was leaving a gym and an official whom I met earlier on in the pre-season and have come to respected told me something that made me go- huh he's right. i've heard it before but it didnt hit all the brain cells until last night. "The only thing I see that you need to work on is learning to relax out on the court" Granted We're getting dropped onto a varsity level playing game every 4 1/2 minutes I should be relaxed after the first 2. The first 2 minutes of the game always seem to be a hard part of the game and sometimes I can relax until the last 2 minutes of the game and then I get caught up again. Is this just an experince thing? I'm in my 4th year as an official and this'll be my first year in an organized, scholastic officials association. At my young age I feel like I have to be better than anyone else for a few reasons. And maybe this is causing me to get tense in the game. What do you guys suggest? I really enjoy officiating. Nothing feels better after a long day at school then getting out on the court. It's an isolation thing for me and something I've really learned to enjoy. Thanks for any help/advice you guys can give.
Old Tue Oct 07, 2003, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member

Interesting post Ace. Being able to be relaxed on the court is important. Relaxing might not be so great. I don't know if you get my point. An official has to be relaxed while focusing on the game, similar to a player who is not going to play well if he's tense.

Having said that, be careful that relaxing does not mean letting your mind wonder and mising something on the court, even during a dead ball situation.