The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2017, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
3. Of course you would not start your 10 count until there was player contol in the backcourt in your b5 rebounding situation. That is the rule.
How so? The 10 count is about team control, not player control. If there is team control, the 10 count starts the instant the ball goes into the backcourt. If, as you say, a bat starts team control, then it would start on a ball batted to the backcourt on a rebound. And if it were to another player, it would have to be a backcourt violation. But it isn't.

Just trust me, you can't have team control without having had player control first. That is rules 101.

As for your casebook reference, they have to spell it out that way because some people will try to insist there is team control when there has never been player control. That just is not the case.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Dec 06, 2017 at 11:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 12:04am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
How so? The 10 count is about team control, not player control. If there is team control, the 10 count starts the instant the ball goes into the backcourt. If, as you say, a bat starts team control, then it would start on a ball batted to the backcourt on a rebound. And if it were to another player, it would have to be a backcourt violation. But it isn't.

Just trust me, you can't have team control without having had player control first. That is rules 101.
Rule 9 Section 8. Paste it here for people to read and decide when to count. Then I can decide if I should trust you.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 03:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Rule 9 Section 8. Paste it here for people to read and decide when to count. Then I can decide if I should trust you.
Not really relevant to this discussion, but if you insist....

Rule 9-8
Quote:
A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.
You can't have player control without also having team control, so all you really need to know with respect to the 10 count is that when there team control with the ball in the backcourt the count starts. There may or may not be player control too but it is completely irrelevant. The part about player control in that rule could be left out and it wouldn't change anything whatsoever.

Again....team control starts with player control, always. Batting the ball, even to another player, despite how much you want to twist the wording of the rules, does not constitute the start of player control. That phrase, as you've been told, only means to say that team control continues even when the ball is being passed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Dec 07, 2017 at 03:15am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 07:18am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Is there a troll meme we can throw out there?

Dude is obviously not an official, or a very very poor one who is incapable of interpreting a rulebook.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Dec 07, 2017 at 07:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 08:03am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Is there a troll meme we can throw out there?

Dude is obviously not an official, or a very very poor one who is incapable of interpreting a rulebook.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
I may have not been an official very long but I am willing to ask questions and get better. I am getting something from this. Your insult really shows what kind of person you are. I do not want to partner up with anyone who thinks they know it all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
There is a difference between touching a rebound and batting a rebound to a teammate. That is the foundation of the argument.
No, there's not. That's what 4-12-5 is telling you, but it seems to be a rule you want to leave out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
I may have not been an official very long but I am willing to ask questions and get better. I am getting something from this. Your insult really shows what kind of person you are. I do not want to partner up with anyone who thinks they know it all.
Then, frankly, you wouldn't want to partner with yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 08:10am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
No, there's not. That's what 4-12-5 is telling you, but it seems to be a rule you want to leave out.



Then, frankly, you wouldn't want to partner with yourself.
Asking questions and discussing an actual issue is not acting like I know it all. Insulting people about it does.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 08:41am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
...


Then, frankly, you wouldn't want to partner with yourself.

You win the Internets today.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 07:58am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Not really relevant to this discussion, but if you insist....

Rule 9-8


You can't have player control without also having team control, so all you really need to know with respect to the 10 count is that when there team control with the ball in the backcourt the count starts. There may or may not be player control too but it is completely irrelevant. The part about player control in that rule could be left out and it wouldn't change anything whatsoever.

Again....team control starts with player control, always. Batting the ball, even to another player, despite how much you want to twist the wording of the rules, does not constitute the start of player control. That phrase, as you've been told, only means to say that team control continues even when the ball is being passed.
So now you are saying parts of the rules could be left out to fit your narrative. Got it. I see a pattern here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1