![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
There is no such thing as a "controlled tap". The player either tapped the ball or the or the player caught the ball and threw it. The fact that the player was able to direct the ball where he desired on the tap is not relevant. A tap, by definition, does not create player control or team control.
The R either made an incorrect call based on incorrect understanding of the rules defining player and team control or made a correct call by misstating what he judged to have occurred.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
All that means is that you can move the ball from one player to another without establishing player control. Which is exactly what happened in my play.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Anyone using "tap" to say there is no team control need realize that this is not a "tap for a goal". |
|
|||
|
There is no Team Control during a try. In order for a BC violation to occur PC needs to be established. How does batting a rebound fulfill the following?
Rule 4 Section 9. Control—Player, Team Art. 1. A player shall be in control when: a. Holding a live ball; or b. Dribbling a live ball while inbounds. Additionally, there is this, which is directly on point in regards to this conversation: 4-9 Art. 4. There shall be no team control during: a. A jump ball; b. The tapping of a rebound (unless it is a try for goal); c. A try for goal after the ball is in flight; d. The period that follows any of these acts (a-c) while the ball is being batted (from the vicinity of other players) in an attempt to secure control; or e. A dead ball. So what am I missing? Seriously wish folks would actually look up and read a rule before telling others what the rule is. We get enough misinformation in AAU and Summer ball locker rooms.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Dec 06, 2017 at 04:24pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Art 2...A team is in control of the ball: b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. Rule 4 Section 31 A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player. So if the "intentional" batting of the ball into the backcourt was to a teammate then this is a backcourt violation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
This doesn't matter though. There was a try for goal. That ended team control until it is reestablished by a player securing player control. Intentional or not, tap or bat, the action by A5 does not give him player control, so by rule, there is no team control.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|