The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   More NCAA-M Questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103051-more-ncaa-m-questions.html)

johnny d Thu Oct 26, 2017 02:53pm

The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense. Since the foul was not a defensive foul, the new rule does not apply. Reset the clock as normal after a change of possession. Team A ball with 30 seconds on the shot clock.

Raymond Thu Oct 26, 2017 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1010691)
The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense. Since the foul was not a defensive foul, the new rule does not apply. Reset the clock as normal after a change of possession. Team A ball with 30 seconds on the shot clock.

Forgot to even consider the non-TC aspect of the play.

Raymond Thu Oct 26, 2017 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010688)
I agree with you with that part whole-heartedly.

By the rulebook definition, the shot clock is reset to 30-seconds "When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange and then control is gained by either team"

...

Once the ball hits the ring (or goes through the basket), the shot clock theoretically is no longer running. A1 shoots, B5 fouls A5, ball hits ring than bounds way up in the air before going through the basket. Once that ball hits the ring, the shot clock no longer has any status (under 20, over 20, 2 seconds, 29 seconds, etc.).

bob jenkins Thu Oct 26, 2017 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010688)
I agree with you with that part whole-heartedly.

By the rulebook definition, the shot clock is reset to 30-seconds "When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange and then control is gained by either team"

Does B (or maybe A -- I forget the play) gets control on the throw-in? The rules doesn't say "gets control before the clock stops"

dahoopref Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1010691)
The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense. Since the foul was not a defensive foul, the new rule does not apply. Reset the clock as normal after a change of possession. Team A ball with 30 seconds on the shot clock.

That is an interesting way of looking at it. Is that written or defined in the rulebook? I understand there is no team control during a try for goal but that ball is still live.

If that FG attempt is good, then who would get the points since "neither team is on offense or defense"?

Quote:

Originally Posted by gamefaceref (Post 1010624)
Any word on what to do in the front court when A1 shoots a three and then B5 holds A5 in the paint. Shot goes in. Team A's ball and shot clock is reset to 30 or 20?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010693)
Once the ball hits the ring (or goes through the basket), the shot clock theoretically is no longer running. A1 shoots, B5 fouls A5, ball hits ring than bounds way up in the air before going through the basket. Once that ball hits the ring, the shot clock no longer has any status (under 20, over 20, 2 seconds, 29 seconds, etc.).

In the original question, I understood that a foul occurred on B5 on A5 during the try for goal. If a foul is called during the try before the ball strikes the rim, the game and shotclock is supposed to stop when the whistle blew, therefore the time remaining on shotclock still has relevance.

johnny d Fri Oct 27, 2017 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010716)
That is an interesting way of looking at it. Is that written or defined in the rulebook? I understand there is no team control during a try for goal but that ball is still live.

If that FG attempt is good, then who would get the points since "neither team is on offense or defense"?

The scoring of points, has nothing to do with who is defined as offense or defense, rather it depends on which basket a goal is scored at, and by which team the player who caused the ball to enter and pass through the basket is on.

Offense and defense clearly matter for the new shot clock rule as it specifically pertains to fouls or violations committed by the defense in the front court.

Scrapper1 Fri Oct 27, 2017 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1010691)
The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense.

Then how can there be goaltending by the defense? :confused:

johnny d Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:44pm

Because the goaltending rule is poorly worded. Although not specifically defined in the rest of the rule book, defense is clearly implied to mean the team that does not have team control of the ball. Team control is specifically defined in part 4, and by implication when neither team has control of the ball, the term defense has no legal meaning.

dahoopref Thu Nov 02, 2017 05:04pm

RULES BOOK CORRECTIONS, INTERPRETATIONS AND CLARIFICATIONS
By Art Hyland, November 2, 2017

Quote:

A1 releases the ball for a try (loose ball - no team control). B3 fouls A3 away from the ball. (Rules 2-11.6.a and .b)
  1. Shot successful – reset the shot-clock to 30 seconds.
  2. Shot unsuccessful but hits the rim – reset the shot-clock to 30 seconds.
  3. Shot unsuccessful but does not hit the rim – reset the shot-clock to 30 seconds.
  4. Shot unsuccessful, no foul, ball hits rim and Team A regains possession – reset to 30 seconds. If a foul occurs by Team B after Team A regains possession, use the new 20 second reset rule.
  5. Shot unsuccessful, shot fails to hit rim and Team A regains possession- no reset of shot-clock. If foul occurs by Team B after Team A regains possession, use the new 20 second reset rule.


Raymond Fri Nov 03, 2017 08:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1010518)
-Every offensive frontcourt throw-in is from either 28-foot line or from 3 feet outside either side of the lane except when the defense deflects the ball out of bounds. Correct?

What if Team A has control in Team B's backcourt, steps out of bounds, and Team B is to put the ball in play in its frontcourt? Is the throw-in from the OOB spot or one of the four designated spots?

...

On a related note: "While the ball is in Team A’s backcourt, A1 commits a player-control foul or violation or there is a held ball with the arrow in favor of the defense. Team B becomes offense and the throw-in is at the nearest 28- foot line or the 3-foot end line spot with a 30 second reset of the shot-clock. (Rules 2-11.6.b and .c and 7-3.1) "

Raymond Fri Nov 03, 2017 08:02am

Also, ALL kicked balls are now reset based on the "over/under 20" criteria:

"Rule 2-11.6.f – The present .f becomes 2-11.6.g. It is replaced by a new, “When an intentionally kicked or fisted ball occurs with 19 seconds or less remaining, set the shot clock to 20 seconds” "


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1