The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   More NCAA-M Questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103051-more-ncaa-m-questions.html)

SC Official Tue Oct 24, 2017 09:41am

More NCAA-M Questions
 
-Every offensive frontcourt throw-in is from either 28-foot line or from 3 feet outside either side of the lane except when the defense deflects the ball out of bounds. Correct?

What if Team A has control in Team B's backcourt, steps out of bounds, and Team B is to put the ball in play in its frontcourt? Is the throw-in from the OOB spot or one of the four designated spots?

-(not a question about a new rule) B1 defending thrower-in A1 violates the boundary plane. This is not one of the warning situations in Rule 4-10. Rule 9-4.3 says “The opponents of the thrower-in shall not have any part of their person beyond the vertical inside plane of any boundary line before the ball has crossed that boundary line. Repeated infractions shall result in a CLASS B technical foul.”

Does "repeated infractions" refer to any team member, or just B1? Is it incorrect to record a warning for this in the book?

Raymond Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:13am

All OOB's violation are taken out at the spot of the violation.

SC Official Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:38am

It would be helpful if I actually read Rule 9. :o

“PENALTY (Section 2-12):
The ball shall become dead or remain dead when a violation occurs. When the ball passes through a basket during the dead ball period immediately after a violation, no point(s) can be scored. The ball shall be awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred.

JRutledge Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:55am

It is only at the 4 spots when the foul is an FC foul by the defense.

We did have some question at the staff meeting I went to on Sunday if a BC foul would that would be like a TC foul would be put at one of the 4 spots, but that is not this situation.

I think some issues were not made very clear at this point.

Peace

SC Official Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1010522)
It is only at the 4 spots when the foul is an FC foul by the defense.

We did have some question at the staff meeting I went to on Sunday if a BC foul would that would be like a TC foul would be put at one of the 4 spots, but that is not this situation.

I think some issues were not made very clear at this point.

Peace

A team control foul where the offended team is resuming play in its FC would cause the throw-in to be at one of the four spots.

Rule 7-3.2(a): “When the ball is in team control in the front court and any of the situations in Article 1 above occur and the offensive team will resume play with a throw-in, the designated spot for the throw-in will be either the nearest 28-foot mark or the nearest spot 3-feet outside the lane line on the end line. (Exception: When the penalty for the infraction specifically requires a different location for the throw-in as in Rule 10-1. Penalty .f and .g.)”

Rule 7-3.1: “The ball shall be awarded out of bounds after: (f) A team control foul."


And a kicked/fisted ball by the defense in the FC would also put it the throw-in at one of the four sports. I am now confident that the only situation where the offense would put the ball in play in its FC at the spot nearest the violation is when the defense commits an OOB violation.

gamefaceref Thu Oct 26, 2017 02:06am

Shot clock question
 
Any word on what to do in the front court when A1 shoots a three and then B5 holds A5 in the paint. Shot goes in. Team A's ball and shot clock is reset to 30 or 20?

Raymond Thu Oct 26, 2017 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gamefaceref (Post 1010624)
Any word on what to do in the front court when A1 shoots a three and then B5 holds A5 in the paint. Shot goes in. Team A's ball and shot clock is reset to 30 or 20?

Shot clock reset to 30 due to a shot being taken by Team A.

dahoopref Thu Oct 26, 2017 09:17am

Quote:

Rule 2, Section 11, Art. 6. Stop the timing device and reset it to 30 seconds:
of the ball, as in loose ball situations.

b. When any of the following occurs:
1. A single personal foul;
2. A single technical foul assessed to the defensive team;
3. A double personal foul when only one of the fouls is a flagrant foul.
(Exception: When a personal or technical foul or kicking/fisting violation is
committed by the defense and the ball is to be inbounded by the offense
in the front court, the shot-clock will be reset to 20 seconds or the time
remaining on the shot clock, whichever is greater
.)
Quote:

Originally Posted by gamefaceref (Post 1010624)
Any word on what to do in the front court when A1 shoots a three and then B5 holds A5 in the paint. Shot goes in. Team A's ball and shot clock is reset to 30 or 20?

This scenario was sent to Art Hyland and there has been no clarification that I know of yet.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010637)
Shot clock reset to 30 due to a shot being taken by Team A.

Respectfully, I was in the same boat as you initially. It made sense, a try for goal (whether made or not) strikes the rim will automatically re-set the shot clock to 30-seconds.

But it states:
Quote:

Sec 11, Art 6, d. When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange and then control is gained by either team;
When the try for goal is in flight, there is no team control. Since no control is gained by either team when the foul is called during a try for goal by Team A, reset the shot clock to 20-seconds if there is an offball foul on Team B.

JMO. Please discuss if there are other views.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 26, 2017 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010649)
When the try for goal is in flight, there is no team control. Since no control is gained by either team when the foul is called during a try for goal by Team A, reset the shot clock to 20-seconds if there is an offball foul on Team B.

JMO. Please discuss if there are other views.

How could there not be a full reset after a successful try? That makes no sense at all. Once the try strikes the rim or enters the basket, we have a full reset regardless of who gets control.

By that reasoning, a rebounding foul by the defensive team would never get a full reset, and I don't think that can be the intent of the rule.

Raymond Thu Oct 26, 2017 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010649)
This scenario was sent to Art Hyland and there has been no clarification that I know of yet.


Respectfully, I was in the same boat as you initially. It made sense, a try for goal (whether made or not) strikes the rim will automatically re-set the shot clock to 30-seconds.

But it states:

When the try for goal is in flight, there is no team control. Since no control is gained by either team when the foul is called during a try for goal by Team A, reset the shot clock to 20-seconds if there is an offball foul on Team B.

JMO. Please discuss if there are other views.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1010651)
How could there not be a full reset after a successful try? That makes no sense at all. Once the try strikes the rim or enters the basket, we have a full reset regardless of who gets control.

By that reasoning, a rebounding foul by the defensive team would never get a full reset, and I don't think that can be the intent of the rule.

So is the logic also that a try that's gets lodged and Team A retains possession via AP would also only reset to 20?

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 26, 2017 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010658)
So is the logic also that a try that's gets lodged and Team A retains possession via AP would also only reset to 20?

Any time a try hits the ring or is successful, the shot clock resets to 30. That's the WHOLE point of a shot clock. Once you take a shot that hits the ring, it resets. I can't imagine the rationale for not having a reset when the offense has done exactly what you've asked them to do.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1010659)
Any time a try hits the ring or is successful, the shot clock resets to 30. That's the WHOLE point of a shot clock. Once you take a shot that hits the ring, it resets. I can't imagine the rationale for not having a reset when the offense has done exactly what you've asked them to do.

The other point is that when a team retains control of the ball in the frontcourt after a foul, they don't need the extra 10 seconds on the shot clock. They're not bringing the ball up from the backcourt. They only need 20 to get to a shot. I don't know which is the right answer here but I can see arguments for both possibilities. You could even argue that since they actually scored points, 20 is more appropriate. That logic, however, would make the reset depend not on the ball hitting the rim but on the make and I'm pretty sure that isn't it.

dahoopref Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1010651)
How could there not be a full reset after a successful try? That makes no sense at all. Once the try strikes the rim or enters the basket, we have a full reset regardless of who gets control.

By that reasoning, a rebounding foul by the defensive team would never get a full reset, and I don't think that can be the intent of the rule.

Believe me, I have struggled with this rule and the Pandora's Box of problem scenarios that ensued.

By rule, if the defensive team commits a non-shooting foul in the front court with less than 20 seconds on the shot clock (and not in the bonus), then the shotclock is placed at 20 seconds. There is no ambiguity to that rule.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010658)
So is the logic also that a try that's gets lodged and Team A retains possession via AP would also only reset to 20?

In this case, it is not a violation by the defense therefore a full reset to 30 seconds is in order if Team A has the AP arrow.

Raymond Thu Oct 26, 2017 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010671)
Believe me, I have struggled with this rule and the Pandora's Box of problem scenarios that ensued.

By rule, if the defensive team commits a non-shooting foul in the front court with less than 20 seconds on the shot clock (and not in the bonus), then the shotclock is placed at 20 seconds. There is no ambiguity to that rule.

...

My logic on this play is that the ball is not dead until the try ends. So the foul is enforced when there is no time on the shot clock.

dahoopref Thu Oct 26, 2017 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010686)
My logic on this play is that the ball is not dead until the try ends. So the foul is enforced when there is no time on the shot clock.

I agree with you with that part whole-heartedly.

By the rulebook definition, the shot clock is reset to 30-seconds "When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange and then control is gained by either team"

There is no "team control" nor is the ball gained while the ball is in flight in the scenario of the off-ball foul by Team B. IOW, if the ball hits the ring and then a foul on Team B occurs, then I agree with you; reset to 30 seconds.

In the original question by the OP, there is no team control while the ball is in flight when a foul on Team B occurs before it hits the ring and the ball is not gained by either team.

This scenario happened at a scrimmage of mine on Saturday and the whole crew had a great post-game discussion about this play; broke out the rulebook and everything. I was in the camp with you with the same line of thinking. After much discussion, the crew was able to change my thoughts on this play. Maybe you (and others on this board) can re-convince me.

I really hope Art Hyland clarifies these types of situations soon.

johnny d Thu Oct 26, 2017 02:53pm

The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense. Since the foul was not a defensive foul, the new rule does not apply. Reset the clock as normal after a change of possession. Team A ball with 30 seconds on the shot clock.

Raymond Thu Oct 26, 2017 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1010691)
The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense. Since the foul was not a defensive foul, the new rule does not apply. Reset the clock as normal after a change of possession. Team A ball with 30 seconds on the shot clock.

Forgot to even consider the non-TC aspect of the play.

Raymond Thu Oct 26, 2017 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010688)
I agree with you with that part whole-heartedly.

By the rulebook definition, the shot clock is reset to 30-seconds "When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange and then control is gained by either team"

...

Once the ball hits the ring (or goes through the basket), the shot clock theoretically is no longer running. A1 shoots, B5 fouls A5, ball hits ring than bounds way up in the air before going through the basket. Once that ball hits the ring, the shot clock no longer has any status (under 20, over 20, 2 seconds, 29 seconds, etc.).

bob jenkins Thu Oct 26, 2017 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010688)
I agree with you with that part whole-heartedly.

By the rulebook definition, the shot clock is reset to 30-seconds "When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange and then control is gained by either team"

Does B (or maybe A -- I forget the play) gets control on the throw-in? The rules doesn't say "gets control before the clock stops"

dahoopref Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1010691)
The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense. Since the foul was not a defensive foul, the new rule does not apply. Reset the clock as normal after a change of possession. Team A ball with 30 seconds on the shot clock.

That is an interesting way of looking at it. Is that written or defined in the rulebook? I understand there is no team control during a try for goal but that ball is still live.

If that FG attempt is good, then who would get the points since "neither team is on offense or defense"?

Quote:

Originally Posted by gamefaceref (Post 1010624)
Any word on what to do in the front court when A1 shoots a three and then B5 holds A5 in the paint. Shot goes in. Team A's ball and shot clock is reset to 30 or 20?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1010693)
Once the ball hits the ring (or goes through the basket), the shot clock theoretically is no longer running. A1 shoots, B5 fouls A5, ball hits ring than bounds way up in the air before going through the basket. Once that ball hits the ring, the shot clock no longer has any status (under 20, over 20, 2 seconds, 29 seconds, etc.).

In the original question, I understood that a foul occurred on B5 on A5 during the try for goal. If a foul is called during the try before the ball strikes the rim, the game and shotclock is supposed to stop when the whistle blew, therefore the time remaining on shotclock still has relevance.

johnny d Fri Oct 27, 2017 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1010716)
That is an interesting way of looking at it. Is that written or defined in the rulebook? I understand there is no team control during a try for goal but that ball is still live.

If that FG attempt is good, then who would get the points since "neither team is on offense or defense"?

The scoring of points, has nothing to do with who is defined as offense or defense, rather it depends on which basket a goal is scored at, and by which team the player who caused the ball to enter and pass through the basket is on.

Offense and defense clearly matter for the new shot clock rule as it specifically pertains to fouls or violations committed by the defense in the front court.

Scrapper1 Fri Oct 27, 2017 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1010691)
The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense.

Then how can there be goaltending by the defense? :confused:

johnny d Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:44pm

Because the goaltending rule is poorly worded. Although not specifically defined in the rest of the rule book, defense is clearly implied to mean the team that does not have team control of the ball. Team control is specifically defined in part 4, and by implication when neither team has control of the ball, the term defense has no legal meaning.

dahoopref Thu Nov 02, 2017 05:04pm

RULES BOOK CORRECTIONS, INTERPRETATIONS AND CLARIFICATIONS
By Art Hyland, November 2, 2017

Quote:

A1 releases the ball for a try (loose ball - no team control). B3 fouls A3 away from the ball. (Rules 2-11.6.a and .b)
  1. Shot successful – reset the shot-clock to 30 seconds.
  2. Shot unsuccessful but hits the rim – reset the shot-clock to 30 seconds.
  3. Shot unsuccessful but does not hit the rim – reset the shot-clock to 30 seconds.
  4. Shot unsuccessful, no foul, ball hits rim and Team A regains possession – reset to 30 seconds. If a foul occurs by Team B after Team A regains possession, use the new 20 second reset rule.
  5. Shot unsuccessful, shot fails to hit rim and Team A regains possession- no reset of shot-clock. If foul occurs by Team B after Team A regains possession, use the new 20 second reset rule.


Raymond Fri Nov 03, 2017 08:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1010518)
-Every offensive frontcourt throw-in is from either 28-foot line or from 3 feet outside either side of the lane except when the defense deflects the ball out of bounds. Correct?

What if Team A has control in Team B's backcourt, steps out of bounds, and Team B is to put the ball in play in its frontcourt? Is the throw-in from the OOB spot or one of the four designated spots?

...

On a related note: "While the ball is in Team A’s backcourt, A1 commits a player-control foul or violation or there is a held ball with the arrow in favor of the defense. Team B becomes offense and the throw-in is at the nearest 28- foot line or the 3-foot end line spot with a 30 second reset of the shot-clock. (Rules 2-11.6.b and .c and 7-3.1) "

Raymond Fri Nov 03, 2017 08:02am

Also, ALL kicked balls are now reset based on the "over/under 20" criteria:

"Rule 2-11.6.f – The present .f becomes 2-11.6.g. It is replaced by a new, “When an intentionally kicked or fisted ball occurs with 19 seconds or less remaining, set the shot clock to 20 seconds” "


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1